Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News
 
 ASHLEY WELLER
 Playing it by the book

How's Your Knowlege of the Rules of Golf?

This issue our rules expert Ashley Weller tests your practical knowledge of the Rules in the form of a quiz and see’s if you have been paying attention to previous articles. There are three sections – true or false, multiple choice and a bonus question worth 5 points. Give it a go and see how you measure up! Score one point for each correct answer in section 1, two for each correct answer in section 2 plus five big ones if you correctly answer the bonus question.

(Answers at the bottom of the page)

SECTION 1 – True or False?

Q1: When taking relief from an Abnormal Ground Condition (Rule 25-1), the player must drop the ball, without penalty, within 2 club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief.

Q2: When proceeding under the Unplayable Ball Rule (Rule 28), a player may substitute a ball.

Q3: A ball to be lifted under the Rules (Rule 20-1) may only be lifted by the player or his partner.

Q4: A ball is Out Of Bounds when any part of it lies Out Of Bounds.

Q5: On any day of a Matchplay competition, a player may practise on the competition course before a round.

Q6: If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.

Q7: In Four-Ball Matchplay balls belonging to the same side may be played in the order the side considers best.

Q8: If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green he may play the ball as it lies or may take relief without penalty.

Q9: A player must never make a stroke at a moving ball.

Q10: The player must never touch his line of putt.

SECTION 2 – Multiple Choice

Q11: In Stroke Play a player makes a stroke with a wrong ball. Which statement below is correct?

(a) The player incurs a penalty of one stroke and must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or proceeding under the Rules.

(b) The player incurs a penalty of two strokes and must continue play with the wrong ball.

(c) The player incurs a penalty of two strokes and must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or proceeding under the Rules.

Q12: In Match Play a player, when starting a hole, plays a ball from outside the teeing ground. Which of the following statements is correct?

(a) The player loses the hole.

(b) There is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke and play a ball from within the teeing ground.

(c) There is no penalty but the player must cancel the stroke and play a ball from within the teeing ground.

Q13: Which of the following statements is incorrect with regards to when a ball must be redropped without penalty under the provisions of Rule 20-2c?

(a) If the ball rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it last crossed the margin of the hazard or lateral water hazard.

(b) If the ball rolls and comes to rest out of bounds.

(c) If the ball rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course.

Q14: Which of the following is correct?

(a) The hole must be 4 ½ inches in diameter.

(b) A tee must not be longer than 4 inches.

(c) The club must be at least 24 inches long.

Q15: According to Rule 33-5, what is the committee not responsible for in a Stableford competition?

(a) Recording the player’s handicap on the scorecard.

(b) Applying the handicap recorded on the scorecard.

(c) Determining the overall points total.

SECTION 3 – Bonus Question / 5 Points

A player plays a stroke at his ball which is lying out of bounds after his tee shot. What is the ruling?

(a) As the ball is out of bounds the stroke is cancelled and the player must proceed under Rule 27-1 (stroke and distance), incurring a one shot penalty therefore playing three off the tee.

(b) As the ball is out of bounds it is no longer in play and thus a wrong ball. The player incurs a 2 shot penalty for playing a wrong ball and must proceed as in part a), incurring an additional one shot penalty under Rule 27- 1 so plays 5 off the tee.

(c) The player is disqualified.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules Quiz/Answers

SECTION 1 – True or False?
1 - False (1 club-length); 2 - True; 3 - False (incl. anyone authorised by the player); 4 - False (all of it must be OOB); 5 - True (Rule 7-1): 6 - True (Rule 18-5); 7 - True (Rule 30-3); 8 - False (Must take relief – Rule 25-3); 9 - False (Ball moving in water (Rule 14-6), ball falling off tee (Rule 11-3), ball moving after address (Rule 18-2)); 10 - False (Rule 16-1)

SECTION 2 – Multiple Choice
11 - C (Rule 15-3); 12 - B (Rule 11-4); 13 - A; 14 - B; 15 - A

SECTION 3 – Bonus Question
Answer: B (Decision 15/6)

How did you score?

0-10 – Rule books are available at
www.randa.org !
11-15 – A bit of revision required!
16-20 – Single figure Rules handicap!
21-24 – Rules expert!
25 – Are you after my job?

Reproduced with kind permission of Golf International Magazine

 

 
Golf International Magazine subscription offer





Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2017 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us