Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News
 
 ASHLEY WELLER
 Playing it by the book

Golf Rules Quiz

This month we are going to test your knowledge of the Rules in the form of a quiz. There are three sections, true or false, multiple choice and a bonus question worth 5 points. Give it a go and see how you measure up!

Score 1 point for each correct answer in section 1, 2 for each correct answer in section 2 plus 5 if you answer the bonus question correctly.

(Answers at the bottom of the page)

SECTION 1– True or False?

1. There is no penalty if a player makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a water hazard.

2. A player may take relief from an abnormal ground condition in a water hazard.

3. In four-ball stroke play balls belonging to the same side may be played in the order the side considers best.

4. In four-ball match play balls belonging to the same side may NOT be played in the order the side considers best.

5. In match play, if a competitor is doubtful of his rights or the correct procedure during the play of a hole, he may, without penalty, complete the hole with two balls.

6. If a ball is moved in measuring while proceeding under or determining the application of a Rule, the ball must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball is directly attributable to the specific act of measuring.

7. A player lifts his ball on the fairway to determine whether it is unfit for play. He may clean the ball.

8. In stroke play, a competitor who has incurred a penalty should inform his marker as soon as practicable.

9. Except on the putting green, a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone.

10. Before a round or play-off on any day of a stroke play competition, a competitor must not practise on the competition course.

SECTION 2 – Multiple Choice

11. In which of the circumstances listed below is the player NOT allowed to touch the line of putt?

(a) In pressing down a ball marker.
(b) In pointing out a line for putting.
(c) In placing a club in front of the ball when addressing it (provided he does not press anything down).

12. In which circumstance is a player entitled to take relief from an immovable obstruction?

(a) The ball and the obstruction lie in a water hazard.
(b) The obstruction is situated out of bounds
(c) The obstruction and the ball lie within ground under repair.

13. What is the minimum allowable length of a golf club?

(a) 18 inches.
(b) 24 inches.
(c) 30 inches.

14. The Committee has certain powers regarding the disqualification penalty. Which of the following is correct?

(a) A penalty less than disqualification may be modified.
(b) A penalty of disqualification cannot be waived.
(c) A player considered to be guilty of a serious breach of etiquette may be disqualified.

15. A player in a stroke play competition discovers on the 5th tee that he is carrying 15 clubs. Which of the following statements is correct?

(a) He is penalised two strokes at each of the first two holes, total four stroke penalty.
(b) He is penalised four strokes on the 5th hole.
(c) He is penalised four strokes on the 1st hole.

SECTION 3 – Bonus Question *worth 5 Points

A player searched for his ball for two minutes, declared it lost and started back to play another ball at the spot from which the original ball was played. Before he put another ball into play his original ball was found within the fiveminute period allowed for search.

What is the ruling?
(a) As the ball had been declared lost the player must proceed under the stroke and distance penalty prescribed in Rule 27-1.
(b) The player has the option of playing the original ball under penalty of one stroke as he had declared it lost.
(c) A player cannot render a ball lost by declaration. The original ball remained in play.

How did you score?

0-10 Rule books are available at www.randa.org
11-15 A bit of revision required!
16-20 Single figure Rules handicap!
21-24 Rules expert!
25 Are you after my job?

(Scroll down for answers)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS:
Q1: True – Rule 15-3;
Q2. False – Rule 25-1b;
Q3. True – Rule 31-4;
Q4. False – Rule 30-3b;
Q5. False - Rule 25;
Q6. True – Rule 18-6;
Q7. False - Rule 21a;
Q8. True – Rule 9-3;
Q9. True – Rule 8-2;
Q10. True – Rule 7-1b;
Q11. B (Rules 16-1a & 8-2b);
Q12. C; Q13. A;
Q14. C (Rule 33-7);
Q15. A (Rule 4-4);
Bonus Question: C (Decision 27/16)

Reproduced with kind permission of Golf International Magazine

 

 
Golf International Magazine subscription offer



Win essential golf prizes at Golf International Magazine



Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2017 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us