Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News
 
 ASHLEY WELLER
 Playing it by the book

ARE YOU PLAYING IT BY THE BOOK?

Rules expert Ashley Weller sets out a 20-question quiz to tease and entertain you over the festive season. And, in the event of a tie, the “Toughest Question of 2012” should settle things nicely...

(1) The concession of a stroke by an opponent in Match Play may not be declined. True or False?

(2) The position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted under a Rule that requires it to be replaced. If it not marked, and the player replaces the ball, what penalty is incurred?

(3) If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green he has the option of taking free relief or playing the ball as it lies. True or False?

(4) If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, it is a rub of the green and the ball must be played as it lies. True or False?

(5) A player may not declare his ball unplayable if it lies in a Water Hazard. True or False?

(6) The Committee has no power to waive a Rule of Golf. True or False?

(7) In Fourball Stroke Play, balls belonging to the same side may be played in the order the side considers best. True or False?

(8) What is the minimum allowable depth of a golf hole?

(9) A ball is out of bounds when any part of it lies out of bounds. True or False?

(10) If a player's ball lies in ground under repair he must take relief as provided by Rule 25-1. True or False?

(11) In match play a player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent. True or False?

(12) In Stroke Play, what is the penalty for playing from outside the teeing ground when starting a hole if the error is immediately corrected?

(13) May a player lay his golf bag parallel to the line of putt to shield the line from the wind?

(14) The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable. True or False?

(15) A ball embedded in its own pitchmark in any closely-mown area through the green may be lifted, cleaned and placed, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. True or False?

(16) If a ball, when not in play, is knocked off a tee by a player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. True or False?

(17) If a player strikes the ball three times in the course of making a stroke, the player must count the stroke, but how many penalty strokes must he add?

(18) In a match, A & B discover after walking onto the 4th green that they have exchanged balls at some point during the play of the hole, but they cannot work out when, or who played the first stroke at a wrong ball. The hole should be halved. True or False?

(19). In Match Play, a player putts for a 3 and the ball comes to rest overhanging the hole. He waits for 40 seconds, at which point the ball falls in the hole. What penalty is incurred?

(20) A player playing in the rain holds an umbrella over his head with one hand while holing a very short putt, gripping the putter with the other hand. Is this permissable?

THE TIE-BREAKER

Q. A player, believing his tee shot might be lost or out of bounds, plays a provisional ball. His provisional ball is struck in the same direction as the original ball and, without any announcement, he plays another ball from the tee. This ball comes to rest on the fairway. What is the ruling?

(a) As no announcement was made regarding the 3rd ball played from the tee, it automatically becomes the ball in play, regardless of where the first 2 balls lie. The player would lie 5 with the third ball played from the tee.

(b) If the original ball is not lost or out of bounds, the player must continue play with that ball, without penalty. If the original ball is lost or out of bounds, the player must continue play with the third ball played from the tee as, when this ball was played without any announcement, it rendered the provisional ball lost, regardless of the provisional ball's location. The player would lie 5 with the third ball played from the tee. In both situations, the third ball bears a relationship only to the previous ball played i.e. the provisional ball.

c) If the original ball is found, it becomes the ball in play and the player must continue play with that ball. If the original ball is lost or out of bounds the player must continue play with the second ball as it was announced as a provisional ball and would lie 3 from the tee with that ball. If he plays the third ball he is playing a wrong ball and must correct the mistake before playing from the next teeing ground, otherwise he would be disqualified, unless the second (provisional) ball is also lost, in which case the play of the third ball would be correct, and he would lie 5 from the tee with that ball

 

Answers Below...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Q.1 Answer: True – Rule 2-4;
Q.2 Answer: One stroke – Rule 20-1;
Q.3 Answer: False – He must take relief, Rule 25-3;
Q.4 Answer: False – Rule 18-1;
Q.5 Answer: True – Rule 28;
Q.6 Answer: True – Rule 33-1;
Q.7 Answer: True – Rule 31-4;
Q.8 Answer: 4 inches; Q.9 Answer: False – Def. Out of bounds;
Q.10 Answer: False (but a Committee may make a Local Rule prohibiting play from an area it wishes to protect);
Q.11 Answer: True, provided there has been no agreement by the players to waive a Rule – Rule 2-5;
Q.12 Answer: 2 strokes – Rule 11-4;
Q.13 Answer: No – Rule 1-2;
Q.14 Answer: True – Rule 28;
Q.15 Answer: False – Rule 25-2 (must be dropped);
Q.16 Answer: True – Rule 11-3;
Q.17 Answer: One, making two strokes in total – Rule 14-4;
Q.18 Answer: False, the hole must be played out with the balls exchanged – Rule 15-3;
Q.19 Answer: One stroke, the player is deemed to have holed out with his 3rd stroke and must add a penalty stroke, making his total for the hole 4 – Rule 16-2;
Q.20 Answer: Yes – Decision 14-2/2;
Tie Breaker: B

Reproduced with kind permission of Golf International Magazine

 

 
Golf International Magazine subscription offer



Win essential golf prizes at Golf International Magazine



Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2016 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us