Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News
 
 ASHLEY WELLER
 Playing it by the book

RULES QUIZ - PENCILS AT THE READY...

European Tour referee Ashley Weller tests your working knowledge of the rules. Score 1 point for each correct answer in Section 1 (True or False), two points for each correct answer in Section 2 (Multiple Choice), and five if you answer the bonus question correctly

SECTION 1 TRUE OR FALSE?

1. A ball is deemed to have ‘moved’ if it leaves its position and comes to rest back in its original position. True or False?

2. A ball is out of bounds when any part of it lies out of bounds.

3. When taking relief from casual water a player drops his ball in an incorrect place and his fellow-competitor points out his error before he plays a stroke. The player is allowed to lift the ball without penalty and proceed correctly with the drop.

4. Under the Rules a player is required to replace his ball on the fairway, but the original lie has been altered due to the stroke of another player. He must place the ball in the nearest lie most similar to the original lie that is not more than two club-lengths from the original lie, not nearer the hole and not in a hazard.

5. When taking relief from a small puddle (casual water) through the green the player may drop a ball, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief.

6. The player may make a stroke at a ball moving in water in a water hazard.

7. The player’s ball lies just outside a water hazard, but there is a loose branch in the hazard that interferes with his backswing. The player is allowed to move the branch.

8. A player is playing a wedge shot from 100 yards and asks for the flag to be attended. This is not permitted.

9. Two players in a match decide prior to starting to automatically concede all putts less than a putter length as the greens are in poor condition. They are both disqualified.

10. A player hits his tee shot into a greenside bunker. He double- hits his bunker shot and holes the remaining putt. His score for the hole is 4.

SECTION 2 MULTIPLE CHOICE

11. As a player is beginning his downswing for a tee shot the ball falls off the tee. He cannot check his downswing and strikes the bouncing ball down the fairway.
(a) The stroke is cancelled and must be replayed, without penalty.
(b) The stroke counts and the player must add 1 penalty stroke.
(c) The stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

12. A player's ball strikes a rock and finishes in a bush 20 yards behind him. He declares the ball unplayable and wishes to invoke the stroke and distance option of Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable) but this would involve dropping the ball 20 yards nearer the hole than where it now lies.
(a) This is permissible as this is where the previous stroke was made, even though it is closer to the hole than where the ball now lies.
(b) As this spot is nearer the hole the player may only proceed under the two remaining options of Rule 28.
(c) The player may proceed under this option but must add an additional penalty stroke as the spot he is to drop at is nearer the hole.

13. If a player's ball lies off the putting green he may repair a pitch mark on his line of play that is on the putting green (Rule 16-1c), but not if it is off the putting green (Rule 13-2). What happens if the pitch mark is partially on and partially off the green?
(a) He may not repair the pitch mark.
(b) He may repair the portion of the pitch mark that is on the green.
(c) He may repair the whole pitch mark.

14. The player’s ball lies in the rough and he declares it unplayable. He proceeds under Rule 28c and drops the ball within 2 club-lengths, not nearer the hole, at point that is in a bunker and plays the ball.
(a) He may not drop the ball in a bunker as it was declared unplayable at a point through the green. He incurs a further one stroke penalty in addition to the stroke penalty when dropping under the Rule.
(b) He is permitted to do this and has incurred just a one stroke penalty when dropping under this Rule.
(c) He may not drop the ball in a bunker as it was declared unplayable at a point through the green. He incurs a further two stroke penalty in addition to the stroke penalty when dropping under the Rule.

15. A piece of mud adheres to the player’s ball. The player lifts the ball under a Rule which does not permit cleaning. When he replaces the ball, may he place it on the spot from which it was lifted but facing another direction so that the mud would not interfere between the clubface and the ball?
(a) Yes, he may place it facing in any direction.
(b) Yes, he may place it facing in any direction except if rotated so as to 'tee' it on the mud.
(c) No, he must replace it in exactly the same position it was when lifted.

SECTION 3 BONUS QUESTION

A player, intending to play in a certain direction, took a practice backswing for a stroke in that direction and broke a branch impeding his backswing. The player then decided to play in a different direction. The area of his intended swing in this new direction was not improved by the breaking of the branch. In such circumstances, would the player incur a penalty under Rule 13-2 (Improving lie, area of intended stance or swing, or line of play)?
(a) Yes, he was in breach as soon as he improved the area of the originally intended swing. The penalty is not avoided if he subsequently plays in another direction, even if the breaking of the branch had no effect on the area of the swing for a stroke in the new direction.
(b) No, if the breaking of the branch had no effect on the area of the swing for a stroke in the new direction the player escapes penalty, although any doubt is resolved against the player.
(c) No, but as the area of the swing for a stroke in the original direction was affected, in equity (Rule 1-4) the player is penalised 1 stroke, provided the breaking of the branch had no effect on the area of the swing for a stroke in the new direction.

 

Answers Below...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SECTION ONE -
(1) False (Def 'Move or Moved'. The ball must come to rest in any other place);
(2) False (Def ‘Out of Bounds’. All the ball must lie out of bounds);
(3) True (Rule 20-6);
(4) False (Rule 20-3b. Within 1 club-length);
(5) False (Rule 25-1. The player must drop THE ball, that is he is not allowed to substitute another ball);
(6) True (Rule 14-6);
(7) True (Rule 23-1. A loose impediment may be moved unless the ball and loose impediment lie in or touch the same hazard);
(8) False (Rule 17-1);
(9) True (Rule 1-3);
(10) True (Rule 14-4);

SECTION TWO -
(11) Answer (c), Rule 11-3;
(12) Answer (a), Rule 28 & Decision 28/8;
(13) Answer (c) Decision 16-1c/1.5;
(14) Answer (b) Rule 28 & Decision 28/4;
(15) Answer (b) Rule 21 & Decision 21/5;

BONUS QUESTION - Answer (a) Rule 13-2 & Decision 13-2/24

0-10 RULE BOOKS ARE AVAILABLE AT WWW.RANDA.ORG
11-15 A BIT OF REVISION REQUIRED!
16-20 SINGLE FIGURE RULES HANDICAP!
21-24 RULES EXPERT!
25 ARE YOU AFTER MY JOB?

Reproduced with kind permission of Golf International Magazine

 

 
Golf International Magazine subscription offer



Win essential golf prizes at Golf International Magazine



Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2017 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us