About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf Today > Asian Golf > Tour Schedules > 2009 OneAsia Tour > Australian PGA Championship > Round 4


 Allenby cruises Route 66 to fourth title

Robert Allenby shot his second straight 66 of the weekend to win the US$1.2 million Australian PGA Championship presented by Coca-Cola for a fourth time and close out the inaugural OneAsia season.

Allenby’s 14-under total of 270 left him four clear of fellow Australians John Senden and Volvo China Open champion Scott Strange, who shot 67 and 69 respectively over the Hyatt Regency Coolum’s par-71 layout on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast.

Marc Leishman carded a 68 to finish nine-under, one ahead of 2006 champion Nick O’Hern (67) and Michael Sim (70). Defending champion Geoff Ogilvy (71), Stuart Appleby (68), Rod Pampling (65) and New Zealander Josh Geary (68) shared seventh on seven-under.

Chinese Taipei’s Chan Shih-ching rounded out an impressive week with a 70 to finish as the top Asian in a share of 12th on five-under with the likes of Adam Scott (73), winner of last week’s Australian Open.

Allenby previously claimed the Kirkwood Cup in 2000, 2001 and 2005, the year he bagged the triple crown of Australian golf with wins in the Australian Open and Australian Masters.

His latest title was his second in as many weeks after he ended a four-year title drought with a playoff win at the lucrative Nedbank Challenge in South Africa.

“I did what I had to do, from the first hole to the last hole,” Allenby said. “I knew I had some very, very tough competitors behind me and I had a lot of respect for them, so I tried to just pace myself.

“I tried to hit as many fairways as I could and tried to hit as many greens as I could. And that's what I did all day. I just felt totally in control on every shot.”

When Scott, Ogilvy and Sim all made birdies at the first hole to draw within a stroke, Allenby looked as though he might have a fight on his hands. However, a birdie of his own at the second was the first of five on the final day and he never surrendered the lead, playing the final 23 holes of the tournament without dropping a shot.

Six of his rivals spent time within a stroke of the lead, Strange doing so for five holes after he made successive birdies at the fifth and sixth, but Allenby's fine form with his claw grip on the putter allowed him to stay clear of the chasing pack.

“I was pretty consistent, but to do it under the gun in the final round, that's pretty special,” he said. “It's a nice feeling to win in that fashion. The birdie at 15 was nice and then the birdie at 17. It's always nice to come down the last with a four-shot lead.”

Tournament drawcard John Daly finished at one-over overall after signing for a second-straight 72. The two-time Major winner had dropped three shots overall through 12 holes after a triple-bogey eight at the 12th, but recovered to even par with three late birdies before a bogey at the last.

Leading final-round scores - par 71 - Australian unless stated (click here for complete final scores and prize money):

270 - Robert Allenby 70-68-66-66
274 - John Senden 73-67-67-67, Scott Strange 67-70-68-69
275 - Marc Leishman 70-71-66-68
276 - Nick O’Hern 70-70-69-67, Michael Sim 71-70-65-70
277 - Stuart Appleby 67-69-73-68, Josh Geary (NZL) 70-73-66-68, Geoff Ogilvy 70-66-70-71, Rod Pampling 73-69-70-65
278 - Matthew Goggin 70-72-68-68
279 - Chan Shih-ching (TPE) 68-70-71-70, Matthew Griffin 67-68-73-71, Adam Scott 68-70-68-73
280 - Chris Campbell 72-67-71-70, Stephen Dartnall 68-73-69-70, Brad Kennedy 76-66-69-69, Bryce Molder (USA) 73-69-70-68, Jason Norris 69-67-76-68, Aron Price 74-69-67-70, Kyle Stanley (USA) 71-71-70-68

Selected scores:

285 - John Daly (USA) 71-70-72-72
286 - Kang Ji-man (KOR) 74-72-69-71, Kurt Barnes (AUS) 76-70-70-70
288 - Han Min-kyu (KOR) 62-75-73-78
292 - Lee Tae-hee (KOR) 75-70-72-75
295 - Li Chao (CHN) 71-71-74-79

December 13, 2009


Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014