Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News



Otway Golf Club, Saltpans, Rathmullan, Letterkenny, County Donegal Ireland
June 28, 2017

When I arrived and had to pay green fees to the old lady in the bungalow next door I thought this was a bit of an easy touch course. Turns out that it is a tricky but fun to play course. Yes the holes are short (remember that distances are in metres not yards) but many tee shots and approach shots are made blind and the greens are often small and undulating. The 2nd has a tricky drive over a narrow pinch point in the fairway, whilst the 9th is just a beautiful golf hole. This is a definite recommendation from me.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Gareth


Golf de Moliets - Moliets et Maa - Aquitaine - France
June 28, 2017
Moliets et Maa
Substantial club house with a good menu for lunch. The course is part parkland and part seaside. A longish course with some long walks between green and next tee. A buggy is a must and they have plenty of them at E36. Fairways are reasonably defined but less so near the sand dunes on the back nine. Greens are ok. Worth a visit.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Fair
Harry B

Astbury Hall,Shropshire,England
June 13, 2017

This must be the best value a golfer could find. We played the course on 07 06 17 This course is far better than the Belfry. It is in magnificent condition by far the best course I have played in a long time. It's not easy in fact it is very difficult but I cant wait to return. There are no weak holes and there are some really cracking holes. Just to stand on the 18th tee is worth the £30 green fee.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Michael O'Reilly


Broome Manor Golf Club,Swindon,Wiltshire,England
June 1, 2017

Very surprised with the quality of the facilities at Broome Manor. Driving Range excellent, Practise area as good as 5 star rated course, and better than many. Staff are very accommodating and the Club House is all you need. Out on the 9 hole course there is plenty of challenges albeit a short track 6,100 yards twice round. Greens could be better a little bumpy but nevertheless a nice course which should not be taken for granted. Playing off 9 it was no gimme to play to 2 under handicap some tricky holes.
I compliment the way this Golf Club approaches the game plenty of innovations and regular coaching courses given by the Pro's(x2) Many larger and more high profile Clubs could take a lesson from this outfit. Excellent Value.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
terry sullivan


Moor Park Golf Club, Mooretown, Navan, County Meath Ireland

May 31, 2017

Ideal for beginners or if you are struggling with you drive accuracy as it's mostly an open course with very little out of bounds.
The greens are large and usually firm. It's a great starter course. If busy then starting on 9th is an option.
Green fees are very cheap which makes it a no brained if bringing young starter golfers.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Good
Damien


Herefordshire Golf Club,Wormsley, Hereford,England
May 22, 2017

We went as a society in mid May 2017 and have been going to this course for getting on for 40 years. We have never had such a bad experience.
OK, go IF, you are happy with the Pro (sorry, Director of Golf ? I wonder if he knows the legal obligations of being appointed ?Director?) not wanting to honour the 2 for 1 cards. We had 4 of them and only after a heated discussion would he relent.
OK, go IF you are happy when on the green and some 20 feet from the pin, having to virtually use a driver to get to the pin so long was the grass and as a consequence, so slow were the greens.
OK, go IF you are happy to be bitten by horseflies and surrounded by small black flies which literally covered the golf ball and got in our eyes. As for the horsefly bites, I had 8 of them, 5 on one leg and 3 on the other, and I was wearing plus 2s and long thick woollen socks and the ... got through them and also through the insect repellent I had applied. They are painful, come up in a big lump, make your legs feel like they have lumps of lead in them and worst of all they are so painful they stop you sleeping. One member of our society had to go home he was in such pain.
Personally I will never go there again, even if our society decides to do so - which I sincerely doubt.
What a disaster!Mark: 1
Value For Money: Poor
Philip Thomas


Derby Golf Club,Derby,Derbyshire,England

May 9, 2017

As a member of Derby Golf Club I would like to bring the reviews up to date.Since 2015 the course has been taken over by SIV from DCC.The course is now well maintained with ongoing care of a now good course.The difference over the last 2 years is quite noticeable with many visiting players giving very good feed back.SIV and the groundstaff work with Derby golf club which in due course is making a great course.Come and have a round and I assure you will not be disappointed.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Pat Doherty



Stromness Golf Club, Orkney & Shetland, Scotland

April 28, 2017

excellent course, short but challenging, stunning views over Hoy Hills, sometimes Orcas swim by! Turn-up and play policy, a must if you're ever in Orkney
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Lee Inkster



Upton By Chester Golf Club,Chester,Cheshire,England

April 24, 2017

Playing the front nine you need to be a good putter and have a tidy short game. The greens are small with lots of slopes and had some interesting pin placements.

The back nine encourages you to"have a go" but penalises you if your not accurate

The course is an ideal Members course in an interesting location amongst some lovely houses,and was in very good condition

Really good value for money
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
david moor

Rickmansworth Golf Club,Rickmansworth,Hertfordshire,England
April 16, 2017

18 hole
What a cracking course.
A fabulous test and the layout is great.
The greens were so fast and it's only April.
I'm sure it will be an even better challenge come Summer.
Well kept, great friendly staff.
Ian
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Ian

 

Hatchford Brook Golf Club,Birmingham,Warwickshire,England
April 4, 2017

As most of the reviews are quite old I thought I would update the site. The clubhouse is small but very well presented. Golf shop has been reduced in size but essential stock available. Staff very friendly and helpful. Refreshment /bar area can get crowded but serves good quality of food and drink. Driving range is kept clean and easy to use especially for the under 16. The junior academy is well run and very welcoming, very family friendly,which does not mean you have kids running around the place. Attended a junior comp with my 14 daughter and it was well organised and infomal allowing them to play with little pressure. Course was mostly well presented, with nice open fairways ideal for beginners. The only criticisms could be some muddy areas but it is low lying and does not interfere with play also the bunkers could do with some TLC. Green where good even with all the rain we have had, see how they are in August.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Lloyd Blackband


Valle del Este Resort - Andalucia - Spain
February 23, 2017

I have played this course on a few occasions and its a great test of golf and in great condition.
Its quiet tight in places and there is a fair bit of water too, however overall i really enjoy this course. I would say its the best course in the area bar Desert Springs.
We stayed in the Hotel on site which is very nice however drinks are expensive compared to the other two bars on the complex both of which also serve great food.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
John Jones



Henan Jinshan Hu Golf Club - Henan Province - China

January 22, 2017

Played course as member for three years. Great course with enough challenges and never boring. Great for long hitters and nice to play with friends. Very well maintained with very good amenities. Ask Rory and friends who played the course on a China round-trip.
Mark: 8
VFM-fair: Value For Money: Fair
Value For Money: Good
Pieter-Paul


Deane Golf Club,Bolton,Lancashire,England
December 21, 2016

Got a cheap mid week deal through tee times and was very surprised at the condition of the course for the time of year. Although fairways a bit wet in parts (to be expected) the greens were superb, I'd probably say the best I've ever seen in December! The professional was very welcoming and the clubhouse breakfast, well, lets say that the calories we burnt off were replaced and some! Lovely all round day and we'll definitely be back.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
tony hereford


Boysnope Park Golf Club, Eccles, Manchester, England
December 19, 2016

I was part of a society that played here in November. Course is long and a bit boring. No real signature holes. No driving range and practise facilities poor.
The deal was pretty good and the staff were friendly but we wouldnt go back.
Mark: 4
Value For Money: Poor
Dave Burridge December 19, 2016


Boysnope Park Golf Club, Eccles, Manchester, England
December 17, 2016

Long, boring, bland, greens uninspiring, tired, lacking TLC. We wont be going back. It is like they are just playing at being a golf club. Paid £15 but will spend a bit more and go somewhere with a bit of class.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
Craig

Ansty Golf Club,Coventry,Warwickshire,England

December 6, 2016
Long, boring, bland, greens uninspiring, tired, lacking TLC. We wont be going back. It is like they are just playing at being a golf club. Paid £15 but will spend a bit more and go somewhere with a bit of class.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
Tony Elsby


I've played this course weekends, midweek and in all weathers and it's both a relaxed day out and a fair challenge. I've not seen anyone take it apart despite remarks that it's relatively straightforward and competition results over recent seasons confirm that view.
It's pay and play, not a pretentious old school set-up but, for all that, I've not found it any more time consuming to complete a round than anywhere else and most groups are happy to let faster players through and the staff are happy to advise about likely hold-ups and whether a back nine start might be best.
Furthermore the course stands up well to the weather so you're virtually certain to get a game. For me the wind and side-slopes pose the most threat rather than the bunkers and streams and, being pay-and-play the greens aren't always the smoothest possible when it's busy due to some folk not bothering to smooth their pitch marks. Altogether though, it's a satisfying test, an attractive grassland course with extensive views, adequate driving range, practice green, par three course and even a football option. There's a good pro's shop, okay bar and the atmosphere's not so stuffy as to become pernickety.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Tony Elsby


Uganda Golf Club - Uganda

December 5, 2016

I have lived in Uganda for the past 9 years and am a regular playing member (11hcp). Having read the last blog (dated 2012) felt I needed to update readers. The Club has undergone a serious revamp program of late with a concerted effort to bring greens and fairways into a far more "groomed" condition. Most fairways now are significantly better with a resurgence of Bermuda Grass providing a far superior playing surface and the greens have been improved from around 6 to over 8 (stimp reading) and even over 9 during the recent Uganda Open.
There is also the addition of 13 new bunkers (in 2014/15) and the recent addition of a significantly enlarged lake on the 12th (index 1) and a new water feature on hole 4.
The Committee has also reviewed the pricing structure and a guest staying at one of the local affiliated hotels (Metropole, Serena, Golf Course Hotel) can now play for around $6 or any guest can play for $15, if accompanied by a member. Unfortunately stand alone guests still have to pay around $70. Group rates and multi-round discount rates may apply.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Ian Parker


Maldon Golf Club,Maldon,Essex,England

December 2, 2016

It is ridiculously shortened in the winter and very boggy when wet.
Before 9am there is rarely anyone about to deal with green fees.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Fair
Vernon Gee

Belfairs Golf Club,Leigh-on-Sea,Essex,England
October 30, 2016

The greens where ok, some nice holes, bunkers where awful, foot prints , dog prints, dog faeces, no rakes, too many people and families walking across the course on the fairways, with dogs and kids, not noticing golfers about to hit a ball, which is a health and safety issue. For twenty pounds I would rather go up the range, to me its a lovely park, with a few holes with some sand thrown into an hole and then called a bunker and then some nice greens with flags in holes. The worse part of it was the people walking across the course with no care and attention. I will not be returning to this course. This club should address the public walking across the course.
Mark: 4
gary

Blackthorn Wood GC, Cottingham, Market Harborough Leicestershire
October 29, 2016

Great little 9 hole course. Mostly a Par 3 course but a couple of challenging Par 4's thrown in as well. Excellent 24 bay floodlight driving range and great resident PGS Coach Joe Wilson offering great value lessons to players of all abilities www.corbygolflessons.co.uk
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Adrian Wilson

'The Emerald' ex Rayong Century Golf Country Club - Eastern Region - Thailand
October 17, 2016

The course was re-named about ten years ago to 'The Emerald'. It is a Nick Faldo design and whilst not long, it has almost no flat areas, so placement is everything. Condition is generally good with a few areas that need to be re-grassed. Amenities are comfortable but not first class. Staff make up for any shortcomings in the amenities.
Mark: 6.5
Value For Money: Good
Rod C


Eastern Star Country Club & Resort, Thailand

October 13, 2016

Course is currently in fine condition. Greens are medium to fast. RTJ Jr course is longer than many and water is very well placed. A challenge. Amenities are also very good.
Value For Money: Good
Rod C


Barunah Plains Golf Course - Victoria - Australia
September 10, 2016

A very long time ago
Is it still open i thought it was closed. Anyone know.? Have not been there for a very long time. I remember the course it was okay. I rated it a b.
Mark: 7.4
Value For Money: Fair
Gillian Saimon



Pytchley Golf Lodge - Kettering - Northamptonshire
September 9, 2016

Course feels like it's been shoe-horned in with a lot of shortish par 4's. However, interest has been added with water hazards and some quick greens with slopes. Risk/Reward opportunities on a couple of holes.
We played in strong wind and found it very hard around the greens.
An enjoyable way to spend an afternoon
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Good
Simon



Silverstone Golf Club, Buckingham,Buckinghamshire, England

September 9, 2016

Played here last week and loved it. Good but fair challenge and the course was in good nick.
Good mix of straightforward and testing holes.
Loved the 4th, 5th, 15th and 18th holes especially but there are plenty of good holes.
Cheap as well - only £20 midweek for a visitor.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Simon



Furness Golf Club,Barrow In Furness,Cumbria,England

September 2, 2016

My group played this course on 21 Aug 2016. Fantastic course and layout, right next to the beach. If you like Links Golf you will love this. It's not completely flat either and the course makes great use of the change in altitude, particularly on the 3rd and 10th holes. The Green Fees are very reasonable and the members and staff ultra friendly. A must play course if you are in the Southern Lakes area.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Vincent Riley



Ballards Gore,Canewdon,Essex,England

August 27, 2016

Played in a Society on 26/08/2016 and the course was in a fabulous condition and it's the first time I've played there. The grounding around the tees was hard due to a lack of water but a small price to pay. The course is challenging but rewards players who play straight. There are some blind holes and you will score better on your 2nd visit due to better course management. A very scenic golf course with excellent woodland surroundings. This course is well designed a caters for all handicappers which is great for inclusion. Hospitality and customer service was of an excellent service and the catering was first class. Really enjoyable day spent at Ballards Gore, would highly recommend it.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Jase Verrillo


Lochmaben Golf Club, Lochmaben, Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland

August 25, 2016

Played this course with friends on 24/08/16.this is a gem hidden away from the bigger/well known courses in the area but superb value.The course largely follows the shores of the loch and while not very long it provides some challenges to all but the very low handicappers.We had perfect weather for our game but would happily play here in the rain,and that says it all.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
graham belfield


Entebbe Golf Club - Uganda

August 21, 2016

Kitante, Entebbe and Windsor Golf Course - Nairobi
I appreciate so much for this wonderful contact. Am born of Makanga of Late Peter M Biratwa who was born at Tee Point No. 9 at that water plant.
Due to that background, the passion of the game, to me is unrated; though not a good prayer yet. I have tried to get some space to enjoy that passion for the last 30 years but have failed.
Now that i cannot, i am preparing my children to take up the chase. Registering them soon but need a post on fees/charges.
My view contribution:
1. We need to put up a water system to maintain the greens to standard.
2. Marketing of the club internationally. I believe members from the region, our respected senior veterans and we the well wishers can contribute resourcefully on this.
KGC being the only high altitude golf course in Africa, its likely to much the standards(even beyond) of The Cascades - Hurghada of Egypt, Heritage Golf Club, Bel Ombre-Mauritius and Le Touessrok of Mauritius.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
Deus William Achungwire


PEARLS International Golf Course - Madagascar

August 16, 2016

First played here in 2014, but not up to scratch. Now played again two weeks ago, the improvements are amazing. It's a sort of "tropical links" with some amazing views over the coastline & surrounding islands. Par 72, 6109 m. Enjoyed it immensely, warm welcome. 3 day unlimited play package for € 140. Course has been re-worked by a Canadian guy, looking great.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Good
Bob ARTHUR



Wedgewood Park Country Club, Port Elizabeth, South Africa

July 30, 2016

We love the course and will consider joining.
We booked 2 carts in advance.When we got there they had to scramble to unplug them etc.Not so great.
No practise putting green [ or driving range ]
Pro shop needs some upgrading and innovation.Looks dull and uninteresting.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Fair
Pieter Bienedell


Hickleton Golf Club,Hickleton,South Yorkshire,England

July 14, 2016

We usually play courses which are available via tee off times,but this club is not represented on that site.Simply rang the pro shop and we were on at £15 PP.
the course and greens were in fantastic condition,and with a little more knowledge we could have scored better.
Beautiful countryside and views.
We did not find the course unduly hilly,although we are used to playing our golf in Derbyshire!!
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
ROB COPELAND


Golf de La Domangère - Nesmy - Pays De La Loire - France

July 6, 2016

I confess to being a Fan of French Golf courses. Most are well laid out and have an aesthetic quality. However there are some that disappoint and sadly this is one. The layout is relatively flat with plenty of Water and Wide fairways it is very long from the Competition Tees (7000 yrds) but this can be reduced to 6300 yrds from the Yellow Tees. I played a mixture of both. I found the course a little boring. Hitting from the Comp Tees makes the course a bit like a driving range and if your not to ambitious you can get to the greens almost every time in regulation despite the length. Hitting from the Yellows bring a lot of water in to play which makes the round a little more interesting so for me they should make the course 6500 - 6700 and lose the extra yardage the place would be better for it.
Once on the Greens they a medium fast (June time) but not true which is disappointment. Maybe I caught the place on a bad day, maybe like the UK they have had a bad early spring/summer but the course looked a little unkempt and not the standard I was expecting. Any way it is advertised as one of the top 8 longest Golf layouts in France so give it a try. But its not for me.
Warning. I assume that because of the length many locals seem to play 9 holes which can present a problem when you make the turn as you run in to "Traffic" which in my on the day, experience were not all that ready to let you through. This made my round over 4 hours and I was on a Buggy. On returning my Buggy I mentioned this to the Pro Shop they offered no explanation and considered 4 + hours to be quite normal. Cost per round €38; buggy €25.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
terry sullivan


Golf de La Domangère - Nesmy - Pays De La Loire - France

June 30, 2016

Having read a number of "write up's" about this track I was expecting something of a real challenge on an excellent layout; I was disappointed. The course is long; very long from the white tees (7000 yrds) yet it plays much shorter. Fairways are wide, Rough is manageable, Greens are uncomplicated so playing from the Yellow Tees (6200 yrds) the course plays quite easily. The layout itself is typically French lots of Water, and Tree's non of which present a problem if you are relatively straight. Handicap Golfers (UK) over 15 should take extra balls. On my visit the course was very busy which lead to hold ups on almost every hole, which as a low handicap player was frustrating as no-one seemed inclined to wave you through. Completed only 14 holes before it became a waste of time. So I have to give this track the thumbs down.
Price €40. Buggy €20.
Fairways OK, Greens Medium Fast & Fair. Overall a reasonable track but does not live up to its publicity. Would not travel any distance to Play again.
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Fair
terry sullivan



Himley Hall Golf Centre/Club,Himley,Staffordshire,England
June 29, 2016

Played this course recently and very impressed with the way it is. Fairly flat course good greens and stunning views recently had a driving range added looks basic but pretty good looking made out of wooden post and ties in with course no unsightly concrete building fairly cheap would definitely be going again
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
paul



Brierley Forest Golf Club,Sutton-in-Ashfield,Nottinghamshire,England

June 21, 2016

following my comments AUG 2015, I am pleased to report the work on improving the bunkers is now well underway, I say improving ? the fact is they have been dug out completely, bottomed with good drainage stone, and topped with good fine sand as bunkers should be, so its well done on that one. The fact is the course is improving all the time, the 18th hole is now finished, and its tricky green layout is ready to make a fool of you. if you are short of time,try the top ten holes for £11.00 excellent value for money.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
george stevenson


Ruxley Park,Orpington,Kent
June 19, 2016

ruxley
Booked to play cray valley only to be told they had mucked up the booking and put us down for Ruxley and that all times for cray were booked. Had no choice,but to play Ruxley yardage disc sovergrown with no 150 yard posts no bells for blind tee shots nearly got hit twice tees were uneven greens long and slow will never play at the golf centre if this is the best they can do Chelsfield Lake,Birchwood Park, Lullestone Shoreham and Pedham are all much better options, avoid this place at all costs if your a serious golfer
Mark: 1
Value For Money: Poor
larry flack


Golf du Domaine de Manville - Les Baux-de-Provence - Provence Alpe Cotes D'Azur - France

June 9, 2016

On my second visit of this unusual design I had to revise my first impression: Barely two years after the opening the course is in very good shape and once getting used to the rectangular greens, sand- and grassbunkers it is a truly enjoyable golfing experience. Though not very long (just 5500 metres from the backtees) the almost constant wind has to be taken in account on many holes. Choose your clubs with care!
The reason for the design has been to fit the course into the 'squares' of the olive groves and vineyards that dominate the landscape. The setting in the white limestone surroundings of the Alpilles at the foot of the old fortress Les-Baux-de-Provence is awesome and the 5-star resort leaves no wishes unfulfilled.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Peter Hodel


Perivale Park Golf Club,Greenford,Middlesex,England
June 7, 2016

Love this 9 hole course.
Easy to park, quiet, well kept, frinedly club house.
Busy but hardly ever have to wait, even for practice areas.
Always use it to relax between contracts and try to play it once a week.
Managed my first birdie last year (2015). Well chuffed.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Edward


Maesteg Golf Club, Maesteg , Mid Glamorgan, Wales

June 6, 2016

maesteg golf club was a great disapointment to me and my society the course was awful the greens where uneven dry. and cracked. verypoor. tees and fairways bald. with more moss than grass. rough was ok i highly recommend you avoid. this. place. we asked for our money back which the pro did with embarrassment. we were told that. they are going under. Not surprised. clubhouse was ok
Mark: 1
Value For Money: Poor
p morgan


Cray Valley - Kent

May 29, 2016

This used to be a favourite course off mine but after playing yesterday, I will not play again...
Greens were length of fairways, fairways length of semi rough, semi rough length of rough and rough forget it!!!!
There was people on the course in jeans and track suit bottoms and to top it all groups driving buggies on the tees and groups of 5-6 players....
Very Very disappointing
Mark: 2
Value For Money: Poor
Steve


Rowallan Castle Golf Club, Kilmaurs,Ayrshire, Scotland
May 25, 2016

Love the place
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
alan ward


Eaton Golf Club,Norwich,Norfolk,England
May 2, 2016

played may 2016 handicap 8 75 pound a round was extremely bad to be frank greens awful fairways patchy with no grass
Mark: 2
Value For Money: Poor
andrew dare


Frinton Golf Club,Frinton-On-Sea,Essex,England
April 27, 2016

I just found the course un inspiring. Used to hills trees etc. The course is completely flat with most fairways straight. Will not return in a hurry.
Mark: 3
Value For Money: Poor
steve


Terravista Golf Course - Porto Seguro - Bahia - Brazil

othercomments: Wow!....and never any waiting.
Value For Money: Good
Bob Clark April 9, 2016

Panther Lake, Kissimee, Florida
April 8, 2016

An astoundingly good course - you do not see a single residence from any hole (other than the clubhouse) - play it at 7.00 in the morning and you may actually see the resident panther! Every hole is different and difficult and a challenge!
It's set in about 200 acres of wildlife wilderness (alligators, eagles and everything inbetween) but the course itself is a work of art. Manicured to perfection where necessary, but wild where it isn't. You can take your pick from 5 sets of tees but rest assured, even off the front tees it will make you think on every hole. Probably my favourite course in the world, and believe me I've played a lot. Not sure I'd want to play it every day though! Good landing areas for drives and fantastic greens. Clubhouse welcome is terrific. Cheers Al
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Alan Kelledy


Kettering Golf Club,Kettering,Northamptonshire,England
April 7, 2016

Wow . Played today at Kettering golf club What a great disappointing experience. Mud mud mud. And of course clay and that was from the bunkers. Never in 33 years of playing golf have I experienced such low standards in course care and management. It's truly dreadful for the price they expect. There's a lot of courses in Northampton that are a proper golf course
Mark: 0
Value For Money: Poor
We mcarthur


Wearside Golf Club,Sunderland,Durham,England
April 7, 2016

Every single hole here is different - for April, after all the rain we've had, the course was in superb condition. Yes it was windy, yes there are some tough holes but they are fair, you hit a good shot you'll get a good result. I hear people moan about the par 5 dogleg 18th - it's a great hole - the moaners obviously took a 7 or an 8! The greens are as good as you'll get anywhere in the region and as far as value for money is concerned it's terrific - we paid £16 for two of us to play in their seniors open! That's £8 EACH!!
Go try it, Alan Kelledy, Ripon City GC
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Alan Kelledy

Mid Ocean Club - Bermuda
April 6, 2016

This is a Must Play Course 7 Stars for everything If you get a chance Play It !!
Got to be one of those on the bucket list !! Its A Gem !!
Just tell them I sent you and you'll get a game Brilliant Brilliant !!
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Dave Boon



Newport Golf Club,Newport,Isle Of Wight,England

April 6, 2016

What a Gem ! Brilliant course suits any handicap and it makes you want to play it again and again because it's tricky and you could use every club in the bag !!
Driving Range must be one of the best !! and have the views in the country.
It's a bit hidden away but nowadays it's easier to find (the members are happy that you found it ) You couldn't get a better welcome anywhere and the website is Excellent www.newportgolfclub.co.uk Find and Try it ! you will not be disappointed !!
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Dave Boon


Derllys Golf Club,Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire, Wales
March 28, 2016

I called in on my way home from Tenby late afternoon in August 2015 on seeing the signpost. There was a warm welcome in a friendly little club house where I paid ?16 for 18 holes. On approaching the 1st green ,I noticed 2 member golfers teeing off on the 2nd. They waited for me and invited me to join them, which I did. They were very friendly and we laughed all the way around .
The course was undulating parkland with plenty of water and testy fairways. the greens were good and I intend playing there again this April.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Gwyn Stephens


Monte Rei Golf & Country Club - Eastern Algarve - Portugal
March 24, 2016

Hi, I played this course with 3 pals in June 2015 and we all were amazed by the whole experience. From the great service of the staff, the beautiful setting and the awesome golf course. The best that I have ever played.
If you are off to the Algarve this one is the best.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Fair
Geoff


Four Seasons Golf Course Punta Mita - Nayarit - Golf courses in Mexico

March 23, 2016

Punta Mita Pacifico course
This is golfing paradise! Not too difficult, fabulous fairways and greens, all laid out in touching distance of the Pacific Ocean. The staff could not be more helpful, the views could hardly be better and the "Tail of the Whale" hole is an experience to be cherished, even if it is at the expense of a ball or two!
It is very difficult to get on (some golf tour operators can manage it) but it's worth it, just for the TotW! As a result we had the course to ourselves - a truly surreal golfing experience which you will probably never forget should you get to play it. It is expensive, but to an ordinary English lad, it's golfing Nirvana! The green fee is the only reason it doesn't get 10
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Fair
Alan Kelledy


Tapalpa Country Club,Guadalajara, Mexico
March 23, 2016

Played this 2 weeks ago. Ridiculously difficult, but fabulous views. Long carries off the tee on some holes, over water on the approaches to others. Some very good holes, but some very harsh rough (jungle, literally, where maintenance has lapsed!) We played it free as we were staying in one of the lodges. Staff were super friendly.
It's a long way from anywhere just to go to play the course, but if you do, take plenty of balls, your sense of humour and a camera. I guarantee you will not play to your handicap!
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Good
Alan Kelledy


Condado de Alhama Campo Signature - Murcia - Costa Cálida - Spain

March 19, 2016

Long undulating course, huge run on fairways due to dry and hard conditions. Greens hard and severe. Get into the wrong position and you will three putt.
Place just looks unfinished, with temporary club house and surrounding areas desert and rubble. Paid 75 euros for buggy +round, so not particularly good value. Surrounding resort is lots of holiday apartments, serviced by a fort like central square where 3 restaurants and 4 bars are located. No bank, no pharmacy, no medical facilities, so not much to keep your attention.
Overall, fairly enjoyable, wouldn't rush back though.
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Poor
Ian Arnold


Bracken Hill Golf Course - Heighington - Lincolnshire - England

March 14, 2016

Bracken Hill is a nuts and bolts course completely devoid of frills, expensive landscaping or club house drinky poos, so if you are a ?Poulter Poser? who expects some lackey to doff his cap at you, or top hat and tails service I think you would be disappointed. Members and visitors alike come here to PLAY golf and not TALK about it. There are no signs up telling you what you should, or should not do; it is assumed that if you can play golf you will be aware of rules and etiquette already.
However, this course has something unique that very few other courses can boast of. I speak of Steff who is not only the owner but the designer, builder and manager of the course. With 50 years golfing experience and having been County Champion for a number of years in his younger days he oozes golf from every pore! And he is more than willing to pass on those experiences to anyone who wishes to learn, or improve their golf.
This is a beautiful heathland course with generous fairways of natural grass all bordered by trees and bushes teeming with wildlife during the summer. The links style greens are also of natural grass receiving very little in the way of chemicals and never requiring watering. Steff boasts the fact that his course has never been closed due to bad weather and the greens are in use all year round.
In all honesty this is not the easiest course to play, particularly due to the strategic placing of the links style bunkers, some of which are quite deep. The front 9 holes have been in use for some time now and the back 9 are playable, although there still appears to be some more work to do on them.
I moved to this area 3 years ago with a handicap of 18. I should have joined Bracken Hill then but I stupidly took heed of the bad reports and went further afield. It wasn't until my game nosedived to the point that I got a handicap of 28 I joined B H early this year. Since then Steff has completely dismantled and reconstructed my game up to the point that I can confidently claim my old handicap of 18.
Well worth a visit by the golfer who is up for a challenge, since this is a thinking man's course requiring some thought for each shot. Membership is recommended for those who are learning the game; not satisfied with their progress or just want to improve.
Mark: 8
VFM-good: Value For Money: Good
Chris B
Alan Wilson


Wakefield Golf Club,West Yorkshire,England
March 8, 2016

Long and tight enough to provide a great test of golf. Good paced greens and tidy fringes and aprons. The whole course is well presented and noticed recently (Feb 2016) a lot of work on the course removing trees that really improve the look of the course. Superb greens for the time of year, better than anywhere else I have been recently. Looking forward to visiting again in the summer. Always a friendly welcome in the clubhouse that has great views down the course.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Alan Wilson



Bracken Hill Golf Course - Heighington - Lincolnshire - England
March 5, 2016

I recently played nine holes at Bracken Hill and was surprised and impressed by the condition of the holes in play.The reception building is now completed and is a credit to the owner. When the new holes are open this will be a course that will challenge all those in the locality.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
adam March 5, 2016


Canons Court Golf Club,Worton,Gloucestershire,England

March 3, 2016

The best course in the area. I've played at others all 18 holes and can honestly say this little club nestled at the foot of the Cotswolds is without doubt the best for value for money, course maintenance and Club completion.
The course maintenance is outstanding. The course etiquette could be better but it is a 9 hole. I have played every week for 5 years and have seen improvements every year. Members come and go out with the hackers and in with real golfers. Competition plays on Saturday and week day evenings. Club House is simple clean light and bright. Offers basic snacks good beer and soft drinks.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Guy Pearce

Golf Club Le Pavoniere - Toscana - Italy
February 27, 2016

One of the 3 Arnold Palmer's Design courses in Italy!
Hazards in the Tuscan countryside, a great experience and a Tour maintainance, a great surprise and very close to Florence!
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Nick Chains


Golf du Domaine de Manville - Les Baux-de-Provence - Provence Alpe Cotes D'Azur - France
February 24, 2016

This charming little 9-hole course is gone and has been replaced by new 18 holes. The setting is magnificent, however the new course might be somewhat controversial.
The greens and bunkers are of rectangular shape and the backtees often fitted with mats. Playing a little over 6000 yards the course is not really long but the walking distances between greens and the next tees sometimes fairly long. A stay a the luxurious but high priced hotel with its nice spa and fine restaurant can be recommended. But only for playing a round of golf on this unusually designed course I would not take the detour.
Greenfees range from EURO 48.00- 75.00.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
Peter Hodel


Guam International Country Club - Dededo - Guam
February 22, 2016

Very challeging, but well maintained
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Stephen Escude

Blue Bay International Golf Club - Zhangzhou - Fujian Province - China
February 18, 2016

Lovely contrasting nine's on this championship course. The front 9 more open to the elements and a good use of subtle undulations on the greens.
The back 9 more pine trees and an exciting challenge with hole 13 the climax of a very strong back 9.
Well worth a visit
Mark: 8.5
Value For Money: Good
Patrick Robertson


Wadi Al Saeed Golf Club - Udhailiyah - Saudi Arabia
February 11, 2016

A sand golf course in Udhailiyah Saudi Arabia. Has great potential especially if converted to grass. Front nine runs through Jebels (large stone hillsides creating interesting wind conditions and some severe hazards and uneven lies if you miss the fairway. Back nine is relatively flat links style play with minimal fairway hazards more susceptible to lower scoring.
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Good
S Boydston


Riviera Country Club, Vereeniging, Gauteng,South Africa

January 20, 2016

The course and pro shop is fine but pls do not use the halfway or the bar sirvice sucks no one smiles prices inflated bad bad bad tride to complain the manager leon kruger no good
Value For Money: PoJanuary 20, 2016or
cj burger



Bogor Golf Club - Bogor - West Java - Indonesia
January 8, 2016

I think Bogor Golf Club is the oldest golf course in Bogor, West Java, Indonesia, which was established in 1935. This is a 9 holes golf course and unfortunately not in a good shape, but I guarantee that the course is very playable!
If you are looking for a nice fairways and putting greens, you'll be much dissapointed. It is hard to distinguish the fairways from the rough, especially at the first fairway. Weeds are all over the course! Even on the green, you?ll be hard to line a put as the bumpy surface sometimes will alter your putts. You?ll find the putting surface more like a fairway in a well-maintained golf courses.
Having said that, this is a very nice course for everybody who wants to start playing the game. One, most holes here is quite straight. Two, less people playing here means you can play even two or three balls. Three, the green fee is very affordable and surely will knock down the stigma that golf is always expensive, especially in Indonesia. I played this course with two of my fellow golf editors with less than US$20 for green fee and caddy tip on weekdays!
With total length 2.940 meters from the male tee box (2.436 meters from female tee box), three of its nine holes can be played differently. Hole 2 par 4 can be played as par 3; hole 7 par 3 can be played as par 4 dogleg right; and hole 8 par 4 can be played as par 5. One suggestions for every body who wants to play here: keep your ball on the fairways, otherwise you can consider your ball lost in somewhere as the bushes and weeds are covering the course! But, again, this is a great course if you want to hone your skill.
Mark: 7
VFM-good: Value For Money: Good
Raka S. Kurnia

Observatory Golf Club, South Africa
January 3, 2016

When next you visit Johannesburg, make Observatory your golf course of first choice. Velvety greens running true, second to none. Narrow fairways challenge your drive. No fairway is level or flat. No green is level or flat. (I left my 12 deg Adams in the bag and used my 17 deg XX10 to good effect) As a first timer there were surprises around every corner.
I have played the Old Course, Carnoustie and others and rate Observatory as an exellent challenge for any level of golfer.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Abraham Kruger


Blyvooruitzicht Golf Club, Blyvooruitzicht, Mmabath, South Africa
December 27, 2015

I was a member during the 80's and early 90's and I remember when joining, the club captain at the time, Andries said to me this is the best club in the world.
He was absolutely correct
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good

Robert Schulz



Larnaca Golf Course - Tersefanou Southern Cyprus


This will be the foremost course in Cyprus With backing from the Eu this will undoubtedly will be member of the European tour and who knows the Ryder Cup.
I am in the business of selling golf tours to British golfers and this will undoubtedly be the number one selection.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Fair
niigel edward roden


Mangais Golf Club - Angola

December 9, 2015

EXcellent Course to play on , the fairways and the greens are always perfect.
Really ensure a round of golf and the driving range.

Unfortunately in dollar terms or kwanza conversion this course is very expensive compared to the pricing of the luxurious courses i have played on in South Africa

Equivalent to $158.00 including a cart ( R2212.00 ) per round - Good play lots of golf with my son for the money spent.

Anyway i guess it is what it is in this day and age.

I none the look forward to playing on the course.

Thank You
Donovan
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Poor
Donovan Charles MacMinn

Seasons Golf Club/Brits Golf Club, Brits, North West Province, South Africa
November 24, 2015

Course is very well laid out and it is always a pleasure to play. The course has its challenges and can be intimidating at times. Make sure you pack a full set of clubs.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Marius du Plessis


Welford On Avon Golf Course,Warwickshire,England
November 19, 2015

I have played this course on many occasions and have never felt disappointed with its presentation.
Fairways are extremely good no matter what the time of year and the weather, greens are some of the best in the area for a pay and play.
There is always a welcome in the club house, with a free coffee if you desire.
I would recommend this course to everyone.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
c baker


Dibden Golf Centre,Dibden,Hampshire,England

November 13, 2015

Greens remain in poor condition.
Fairways average in a lovely parkland setting.
Very nice clubhouse with excellent food served by very helpful staff.
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Fair
dunkyp


Stonham Barns Golf Centre - Stowmarket - Suffolk - England

November 2, 2015

GETTING BACK ON TRACK :)
(Round played: 02-Nov-2015 - Score: 84 Handicap: 23.9) Having spoken to the owner about the problems discussed in my earlier reviews I'm delighted to say that they are going to separate the Foot-Golf from the course. We played today for the first time in 15-months and, albeit a little damp, I'm delighted to say that this little course has lost none of it's charm.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Good
Stuart Walden



Burnham Camp Golf Club - Canterbury - South Island - New Zealand

October 27, 2015

Great course. No need to book just turn up and play. We were the only group on the whole course which was great as we could take our time.
There was a big wind a couple of years ago and that has knocked over most of the pine trees and has really opened it up.
Very friendly and will return in the future.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Chris G

Marsden Golf Club,Huddersfield,West Yorkshire,England
October 25, 2015

Played at Marsden all year really enjoyed it members great Kelly and Simon carne do enough for you and the club just one problem this years captain is a knobhead
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Paul Smith


Anjou Golf & Country Club - Champigné - Pays De La Loire - France
October 20, 2015

unfortunately badly maintained, staff knew nothing about golf and the 'menu' was truly a joke. More than 10euros for a microwaved croque monsieur. Met the owner who appears to be only interested in money and not the golfing experience.
Hugely disappointed.
Mark: 2
Jean Michel



North Foreland Golf Club,Broadstairs,Kent,England
October 12, 2015

Seriously overrated course. Played today 12/10/15 and found members aloof and impatient with visitors. Tee times after 2pm restrict 4 balls but no one told us! Members complained to us on the course and wouldn't accept our apologies for not knowing or being informed. The course doesn't compete with other ones in Kent. Views are good but the same overall. Yes it's by the sea! We get it! We planned this day for months and ended up very disappointed. North Foreland, you're up your own &@&, get over it! Not a good day. Not good value for money.
Mark: 2
Value For Money: Poor
GB


Robin Hood Golf Club,Solihull,Warwickshire,England

October 6, 2015

I played the course in early July 2015.This was my first visit since I left the UK and gave up my membership in 1988.
There have been a few minor changes in the layout but most impressive was the condition of the course.it was fantastic with the best greens I have played on all summer.
Congratulations to the members and staff on the immaculate condition of this fine course
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
John Ballantyne


Cumberwell Park Golf Club,Bradford-on-Avon,Wiltshire,England

September 29, 2015

Our New Forest Golf Club Seniors Tour comprised of 11 Club Members playing 3 days golf, spending 2 nights bed, breakfast and dinner at this perfect and well managed location, knowing full well that we will be back....four magnificent, challenging and different courses, superb dining and "spikes" bar facilities backed up by three of the most cleanest, most comfortable and fully equipped Cottage accommodation , each sleeping four of the happiest "senior golfers" away on their annual boys getaway.....if you miss this one you will regret it
Capt Rocky & the boys
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Captain Rocky Fearis


Golf de Saint-Nom-La-Bretèche - Saint-Nom-La-Bretèche - Ile de France - France

September 27, 2015

As I parked my car a very welcoming Scottish Secretary came out and asked me if I wanted to play - I don't think he saw many players during the week as the French just use it as a restaurant midweek and it's deserted on the course. Equipped with " hired " everything and the asst pro's shoes I went out and did my best on the red and came in to enjoy the menu du jour lunch. The affable Sec had arranged a game for me in the afternoon on the blue and 2 pm saw me teeing off with two young French brothers hcp 11 and 3 and their sister off 10. The course is magnificent and plays a little like the blue and red courses at Frilford Heath in Oxfordshire where I learnt to play. Fees reasonable and menu exciting as to be expected in La Belle France. A wonderful day out and worth every penny. Best of all was the welcome, so give it a try and you never know......
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
David Bentley

Ellesmere Golf Club,Worsley,Manchester,England
September 22, 2015

Slow greens, patchy fairways and scruffy in parts. Not as expected. Behind members playing in a 6 ball - very slow and they left pitch marks on the greens.
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
adam williams

Fairfield Golf Club,Manchester,England
September 21, 2015

Recently played this course and came a way with mixed feelings. The facilities offered by the New club house are fantastic and as a building, blends beautifully in to the landscape.
Because of the New club house, the course has been some what changed, such that there are three New holes, which will take some time to bed in!
The course, having played it some ten years earlier, is very tight and you will either love or hate it. That being said, the greens, fairways, semi-rough and the peripheries to the golf club are in superb condition and is a credit to the green's staff!
However be advised that your golf clubs / trolley will be covered in 'Canada Geese' excrement. I lost count at 86 Geese, in one flock. There is not a square metre on some holes, that is not covered by this filth. Equally there is no where to clean one's gear before putting it back in your car! Beware also that these birds can and are vicious!
With a pair of geese having up to 20 young, this is going to get out of hand very quickly. Shame because al in all it is a nice course!
Mark: 5
Value For Money: Fair
DERRICK STAFFORD


Barlborough Links Golf Club & Driving Range - England

September 20, 2015

New owners here at barlborough are making a real effort to improve the condition of the course, which has always had promise, but never the longer term commitment of the management to complete.
Drainage, a long term problem, is now much better, greens are improving, and with tees and bunkers on the improvement agenda, I would say that over the next year or two, with the support of the Derbyshire golfing community, Barlborough should be back on the map as a proper golfing venue.
At £7 for the 9 holes it's a bit of a bargain, the only fly in the ointment seems to be the attitude of one or two groups of older members, who have got used to having the course to themselves in the mornings over the past year or two, and are painfully slow, they also don't appear to understand the concept of playing through either, but the owners are trying to encourage a faster pace of play which will be vital as the club grows and the course gets busier.
I'd encourage all to forgive Barlborough it's former sins and give it a second chance, I think you'll be surprised.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Fair
Jon



Chislehurst Golf Club,Chislehurst,London,England


Played in a society day and found the course in superb condition. It may be short by modern standards but the speed of the undulating greens makes it a real challenge. Clubhouse is worth a visit as well.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Dave Neale


Vita Park Golf Resort - Bodrum - Turkey

September 18, 2015

Club house and surrounding were very nice. The course it self is narrow and badly done specially the fairways. If you dont drive in the exact middle, everything rolls off to the sides and are lost. Totally over priced. Rental clubs were dented and in bad condition.
Mark: 3
Value For Money: Poor
TeuvoTuominen



Thorn Park Golf Centre - Devon - England

September 15, 2015

Mark: 1
Value For Money: Poor
Dan

Stonham Barns Golf Centre - Stowmarket - Suffolk- England
September 14, 2015

I recently visited Stonham Barns Golf centre with my son and 2 grandsons to play golf on their nine hole course. My grandsons are new to golf and were excited at the prospect of playing on a "proper" course. We had heard that Stonham Barns Golf Centre was perfect for beginners and juniors and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by friendly staff who offered my grandsons the loan of golf clubs free of charge. The course was just right for all of us, not too challenging for the juniors but a couple of par 4 holes to make it more of a challenge for the grown ups. The course was in really good condition with lots of trees and bunkers to make it interesting. We all had a great day out that was fantastic value at £7 for adults and £5 for the juniors to play either 9 or 18 holes. We shall certainly be returning again soon. It is refreshing to find somewhere that is is doing all they can to encourage more juniors and beginners to get into golf in a relaxed and friendly environment. I would recommend Stonham Barns Golf Centre to anyone wanting to start playing golf without the usual restrictions of a conventional golf club.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Eddie Watson

South Leeds Golf Club,Leeds,West Yorkshire,England
September 13, 2015

Excellent course and friendly pro in club shop.the course has some great views of leeds and can be tricky to play if there is a strong wind blowing. But the greens are very good with some subtle breaks so your putter best be on form.very good value for money and I highly recommend it
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Richard Smith



Golf de La Domangère - Nesmy - Vendée - France



Yes it's long over 7000 yards off the back but far from monotonous .Make no mistake this is an excellent course and was in great condition at the time of playing.Fairways are fairly generous but narrow at key points making the player think about position and club selection off the tee. Water hazards come in to play on 10 of the holes so take your wellies ! Greens are undulating and fairly big with large bunkers. Being critical the sand was very coarse with a significant amount of small stones.
La Domangere is a modern golf course designed for today's standards but offers beginners /shorter hitting players plenty of tee options. Green fee was Euro40 and Twilight rate Euro30 2015 Would I play it again ? Yes
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
T Mathias


Bangor St Deiniol Golf Club, Penybryn, Bangor, Gwynedd, Wales

Not for the feint hearted, and I really mean that in every sense.
The course changes elevation in a spectacular fashion and it is a tough 5 mile walk round. Carry your clubs or hire a buggy - a trolley would be a burden not a help. Views are fabulous from the higher parts of the course once you get your breath back.
It is a short course par 68 but is seriously tight - when I played in July the rough was impossibly thick and often only a few yards from the fairway or green. If you are around 20 Handicap like me you will need to carry a good stock of balls. I was 6 over and played well (4 pars and a birdy). A few loose shots were severely punished and I was 5 off the tee on a par 3!!
The welcome at the club was terrific and the condition of the course was good.
I am glad I made it round this seriously tough James Braid course but I wouldn't play it again without a member to help with clubbing and lines.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: Good
Malcolm Smith


The Wave Golf Club, Almouj Golf- Muscat - Sultanate of Oman
September 9, 2015

Very poor condition!terrible fairways!no water supply!
Value For Money: Poor
Najeeb

Caerwys Golf Club,Caerwys, Mold, Flintshire, Wales
September 6, 2015

Played caerwys 3 times in last few weeks.really challenging.Will be going again.always made welcome,there.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
steve



Bardsley Park / East Manchester Golf Centre - Lancashire - England

August 28, 2015

This is the worst range in the country. A rude, arrogant old man turns up when he wants and has the worst attitude i have ever come across. The bays are too small and the mats are terrible. Balls are cracked and old and you can only get fifty. More often than not he isn't even their forcing customers to sit in the car park waiting, and when he turns up its like he is doing you a favor. A truly terrible range with truly terrible staff. AVOID
Mark: 0
Value For Money: Poor
STEVE



Villa Golf Club - Tunbridge Wells - Kent
August 27, 2015

Recently played in a Society Game arranged by my club Effingham Park.  Had a wonderful day, the course was in fabulous condition and the hospitality and members were exceptional.  What a shame my own club isn't like this.l
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
James Fox

Tidworth Garrison Golf Club,Tidworth,Wiltshire,England
August 20, 2015

Excellent well kept and presented golf course,
Friendly staff, good clubhouse and changing facilities
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
adrian brice


Hylands Golf Complex - Ingatestone - Essex

August 17, 2015

Played with 6 friends on 15/8/2015 paid £22 for 18 holes and will never go back. There is no sand in any of the bunkers, the greens have very little turf and were like the fairways anywhere else and had not been watered for weeks, the fairways were like the rough anywhere else and then when we came off after 9 holes, we were told we have to write to the directors for a refund, as none of the staff were authorised to refund any part of the green fee charged.
Mark: 1
Ian Bull



Stilton Oaks Golf Club,Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

August 12, 2015

My friends and I played the first 9 holes and found them a variety of challenges. Beware of the rough at your peril. Don the owner was very accommodating and couldn't do enough to help.
Very relaxed atmosphere where 2 newcomers to the game could play without pressure. 
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Martin Ward

Brierley Forest Golf Club,Sutton-in-Ashfield,Nottinghamshire,England
August 10, 2015

To be honest Im a bit reluctant to share this golfing venue secret, why do I say this is because its not over crowded, or snobbish to new comers, its possible to turn up at short notice to get a good 18 hole game for only £15.00.
However you must accept the fact that it has not got the best access, car park or club house. what you do have is good friendly ground staff, who have turned this once old farm land into a very testing course with good fairways and holes of every degree of difficulty,( the only downside to the course is the bunkers, they need some new sand and improvements ) on the plus side on your way round you will find it hard not to linger viewing lovely country side around it . To end your visit go into the clubhouse bar and get a good warm greeting, have a drink of your choice, or if their is any left I recommend the home grown beetroot and ham cobs !! not even the top courses can beat them.
Mark: 8
george stevenson


Sutton Bridge Golf Club,Sutton Bridge,Lincolnshire,England
August 9, 2015

a great 2x9 hole course great value for money the only shame is if you are not a member you cannot play here on the weekends such a shame great value for money
Mark: 8
FM-good: Value For Money: Good
DARREN


Fortwilliam Golf Club,Belfast,Ireland

August 3, 2015

Fortwilliam Golf Club is located off the Antrim Road at Downview Avenue in the suburbs of North Belfast. It is situated in an area of natural beauty offering stunning views of a tranquil Cavehill to the north-west and the busy Belfast Lough to the east.
Although not a long course, it provides a good test of golf as most holes have narrow tree-lined fairways and difficult-to-read greens. It measures over 6000 yards, Par 70. The clubhouse has excellent bar and restaurant facilities with a vibrant social life and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at Fortwilliam. The food is second to none with great variety, value for money and friendly staff (which is why we return week after week). We have recommended the restaurant to many friends and family who are now regular visitors. One improvement that could be made is light entertainment on a Sunday afternoon. This would encourage diners to stay longer and put more revenue into the club.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
DAVID BANNON


Shandon Park Golf Club, Belfast, Ireland
July 27, 2015

July 2015 Shandon open week just over, found course in exellent condition, greens running at 10.5 friendly pro shop and clubhouse with good bar and resturant facilities
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Gordon Strain


Centurion Club,Hertfordshire,England
July 26, 2015

A superb golf course, design and condition excellent. The first seven holes reminds me of Spyglass then it opens out to a undulating links course. A great test of golf ,you will never get bored playing it.
If you're lucky enough to know a member don't fall out with him!!
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Chris G

The Legacy Golf Club - Bangkok - Thailand
July 23, 2015
Played more then 150 times between 2004 and 2014

This is a test of golf that requires both a draw and a fade of the golf shot for the correct position in the course of play.The Legacy Golf course can be a challenge for both the high and low handicapped golfer.The greens and course are both kept well to standards of professional play.There are plenty of refreshment stands on the course that also doubles as weather protection areas .The caddie crew are professional and are encouraged to play golf on the course themselves ,so are very knowledgeable of the course and greens.I have found that the staff and the people working at the Legacy Golf course to be both friendly and helpful.I have played more then 30 different golf courses in in more then 600 outings in Thailand since 1974 and I place this course in my Top Three.This is truly a Jack Nicklaus designed test of golf for all types of players.
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Jim Wilson Jr


Caerwys Golf Club,Caerwys, Mold, Flintshire, Wales

July 21, 2015

My husband and I played this course today. I took up golf 8mth ago 12 lessons later I can hit the ball but I'm slow. My husband has been playing for years. We both enjoyed this course. The longest holes were par 4 260yds. For a novice like me, this meant I could reach the greens in a respectably number of shots. There are plenty of challenges with dogged leg greens and lots of rough. My husband enjoyed the challenge of a shorter course, and the unforgiving greens if not read correctly. Very good value for money. Staff very welcoming. Will definitely visit again.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Joe L


Boysnope Park Golf Club, Eccles, Manchester, England

July 20, 2015

Played this course several times. Can't criticize the quality of the fairways or greens which are in superb condition, it's just the course is very long and uninspiring.
Mark: 7
Value For Money: FairJuly 20, 2015
Darren


Spey Bay Golf Club, Spey Bay, Fochabers, Moray, Scotland

July 19, 2015

Great natural course....what a pleasure to play on such a track with no silly features,just golf as it should be on a so natural links course. Lovely turf,interesting Swales and hollows,beautiful whins in bloom,peace and quiet,no hordes of visiting parties,great views and a feeling of playing on an original real course ,not stupidly manufactured to be something it isn't. Thoroughly recommended for the golfer not just chasing the named courses but wishing to experience a real course.-and great value too !!
Very friendly reception from clubhouse staff and non pretentious sensibly priced food.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Golf Spieler


Henllys Hall Golf Club,Llanfaes, Beaumaris, Isle of Anglesey, Wales

July 1, 2015

Great course in super condition. Fantastic views over Menai Straits and Snowdonia.
Many interesting holes which need careful planning to negotiate. A par on any hole is a good score and three-putts are very common on the fast sloping greens.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
Ian Dunbar


Colchester Golf Range - Essex - England

June 17, 2015

brilliant driving range. bays need refreshing they are a bit old and bumpy nut still playable.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
sam welden


Dore And Totley Golf Club,Sheffield,South Yorkshire,England

June 15, 2015

had an excellent days golf today 12 players all agreed the course is in first class condition the staff were all very helpful and the members friendly we had rolls and coffee before we started and then had good rounds of golf .this was the first time we have played here so our scores could have been better we will be back and hopefully do better.
Mark: 9
Value For Money: Good
nick


The Ingol Golf Village,Preston,Lancashire,England

June 14, 2015

Has come on a huge amount in last 18 months. Back to looking like a golf course and a busy little golf club. Wide fairways in good condition with excellent lies. Well designed golf course forces you to think about positioning of tee shot on nearly every hole rather than just blasting a driver. Two cracking par 3's from back tees on back nine. Pro has indoor teaching area with Trackman.
Mark: 8
Adam

Police Golf Club, Zimbabwe
June 11, 2015

The course is showing some improvements compared to what it was 5 years ago.The greens are are a little bit slow and the bunkers are awesome ,they have enough sand.the only needs to improve on the t-boxes.Altimatly the course is enjoyable.
Mark: 6
Value For Money: Fair
Kelvin Muchenje



East Barnet Golf Club - New Barnet - Hertfordshire

June 10, 2015

Terrible service by the new owners. The state of the golf course is appalling. Sadly, this is a course in decline. Not worth the visit and certainly will not be going back
Mark: 1
Value For Money: Poor
Elena


Akasia Golf Club, Gauteng / Johannesburgh, South Africa
June 10, 2015

course in super condition-i have played all over Gauteng and my number one rated course is Akasia. Friendly staff, food is awesome. Weldone
Mark: 10
Value For Money: Good
Basil Wolfaardt

Lofthouse Hill Golf Club,Wakefield,West Yorkshire,England
June 4, 2015

Nice course and enjoyed my round. Two things though that could be better , firstly there were no markers indicating distance left to green, secondly as we were teeing off there was a lawnmower man beside the tee with the engine running which was very off putting when I mentioned this to him he said he couldnt turn it down , how about turning it off then??? Or moving away till we played our shots .
Other than that I had a wonderful time .
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Good
Darrell Moran


Prestige Golfshire Club-Bangalore - India

June 3, 2015

Though located far from the city, I felt, Golfshire to be a perfect place where you get lovely food, a game of golf and some quality time with your family.
Their hospitality was up to the mark and Mr. Patrick Wynn ensured I had a memorable time.
Mark: 8
Value For Money: Fair
zeeshan

SEND US YOUR REVIEWS!

Have you played a course you really liked - or didn't like - recently? Was the Club welcoming or not, and did it offer good value for money? Please send us your reviews, and we'll publish them here and on the relevant pages in our Course Guide. Thank you!








Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2017 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us