Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News

Open Champion Darren Clarke moves to world no. 30
July 18, 2011

Darren Clarke won the 140th Open Championship at Royal St George's by three shots from Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson with a final round of level par 70. Clarke, recent winner of the Iberdrola Open in Majorca began the day with a one stroke lead. Mickelson started four strokes behind Clarke but caught him at 5 under par with an eagle on the 7th. Clarke eagled the same hole and kept a clear and growing lead from that point. Clarke becomes the sixth straight first time Major Championship winner and jumps 81 places to World Number 30.

American rookie Chris Kirk fired a four-under-par final round of 68 to claim his first US PGA Tour title at the Viking Classic in Madison on Sunday. Kirk never trailed after heading into the final round at Annandale Golf Club with a one-shot advantage, and went on to win by the same margin - equalling the 22-under-par tournament record for four rounds in the process. The win takes Kirk to World Number 77 an improvement of 29 positions.

This week's other winners were Thaworn Wiratchant at the Indonesia Open presented by Enjoy Jakarta on the OneAsia Tour, Russell Knox at the Chiquita Classic on the Nationwide Tour, Benjamin Hebert at the Credit Suisse Challenge on the Challenge Tour, Tom Hoge at the Canadian Tour Players Cup on the Canadian Tour and Cesar Costilla at the 51 Abierto Internacional de Golf Copa Sura on the Tour de las Americas.


Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© 1996-2018 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us