Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News

Stoke Park sponsor "Golf Book of the Year"
April 20, 2012

Stoke Park, Europe's leading five star Country Club, Hotel and Spa,  is to sponsor the inaugural Golf Book of the Year at The British Sports Book Awards, which this year celebrate its 10th anniversary in May.

Set in 350 acres of magnificent parkland, lakes, historic gardens and monuments created over the past 1,000 years, Stoke Park's impressive leisure facilities include a championship golf course designed in 1908 by Harry Colt, widely considered to be one of the finest course designers of the 20th century.

By supporting the Golf Book of the Year, Stoke Park is looking to further establish itself as a premier golfing and leisure destination that is easily accessible from London and within just a few miles of Heathrow.

"Stoke Park is delighted to be associated with the British Sports Book Awards in its 10th Anniversary. With the introduction of the new golf book award we recognise the value and importance of books within our game. Stoke Park's history has been recorded over the past 1,000 years and we felt the opportunity to be involved with the Golf Book Award fitted perfectly with our heritage," commented Stuart Collier, Director of Golf at Stoke Park

The judging panel for the Golf Book of the Year will be headed up by veteran golf journalist, John Hopkins, who enjoyed a successful career with The Times for many years and remains a highly-respected freelancer writing for a variety of publications.

The new golf book award, which coincides with the introduction of a Motorsport Book of the Year, joins the already well-established categories of football, rugby, cricket and horse racing.

"We are delighted to have secured such a prestigious sponsor in Stoke Park for the inaugural Golf Book of the Year Award and look forward to welcoming them alongside our family of partners to The Savoy in May," commented Omar Khan, Co-owner of The British Sports Book Awards and Director of Khan Consulting.

The winners of the British Sports Book Awards 2012 will be revealed at a black tie dinner at The Savoy Hotel in London on 21st May when Nick Hornby will also be presented with a special award for 'Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing', 20 years on from the publication of 'Fever Pitch'.

To mark the 10 th staging of the a wards, the organisers have negotiated a 30-mintue highlights programme of the awards ceremony which will be televised on Sky Sports TV on the 25th May. Both the ceremony and programme will be hosted by Natalie Pinkham (Sky Sports TV) and Rishi Persad (BBC TV Sport).

Following the Awards night, all category winners will then be entered into an online public vote via to find the Overall British Sports Book of the Year, the result of which will be announced on 11th June.

Nominees for the BSBA Golf Book of the Year Presented by Stoke Park

18 Greatest Irish Golf Holes  

by Craig Morrison, Andrew Ross, John Kernick (18 Greatest Golf)

A Journey Through the Annals of The Golfing Annuals 1888-1910  

by H R J Grant and D M Wilson (Grant Books)

England's Finest Links: History of Royal Cinque Ports  

by David L Dobby (Broadside Publishing)

From Old Tom to the Tiger: The Golf Majors 1860-2010 - the First 150 Years  

by Alun Evans (Evanstar Publishing)

Golf Courses, Great Britain and Ireland  

by David Cannon (Rizzoli International Publications)

The 100 Greatest Ever Golfers  

by Andy Farrell  ( Elliott & Thompson)

The Caddy Chronicles: Book One - The Rookie Season  

by J J McClure (Createspace)  

2014 in Review
Through the bag the best shots of the year...

Who will be Rory's rival in 2015 and beyond....

Tiger Woods
Going retro with new swing coach...

PGA boss fired over Ian Poulter comments...

YE Yang
The struggles of Asia's first major winner...

Colin Montgomerie
His thoughts about the 2014 Ryder Cup, his game...

Ryder Cup
The USA's flawed Ryder Cup system...

Mazda 3 - Engineered to perfection...

Sam Snead auction of famous personal items...

Book Review
The Spiritual Golfer - By Robert "Lumpy" Lumpkin

© 1996-2018 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us