Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golftoday Latest
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Alfred Dunhill Cup teams announced

Spain will be trying their utmost to hold on to their Dunhill Cup crown despite the threat of a very strong South African team at St Andrews in October.

World number two Ernie Els will join Retief Goosen amd David Frost in the South Africa threesome and they will be looking to usurp a Spanish team comprising Miguel Angel Jimenez, Miguel Angel Martin and Jose Maria Olazabal.

The South Africans field a side which won the Cup in 1997 and 1998.

The Americans have only named two of their team - Tom Lehman and John Daly - with the third to be announced shortly.

John Daly will return to the scene of his 1995 Open win.Allsport.

European number one Colin Montgomerie will lead the Scotland side on his home turf while Bernhard Langer heads the German challenge.

England's team consists of Roger Chapman, Brian Davis and Jamie Spence.

Sixteen countries in total will compete in the 1m competition, with 100,000 going to each member of the winning team.

Teams for the Dunhill Cup to be played over the Old Course at St Andrews, Scotland, from October 12-15:

Argentina - Angel Cabrera, Jose Coceres, Eduardo Romero
Australia - Stephen Leaney, Nick O'Hern, Peter O'Malley
China - Wen-Chong Liang, Xiang-Bing Wu, Lian-Wei Zhang
England - Roger Chapman, Brian Davis, Jamie Spence
France - Thomas Levet, Jean Francois Remesy, Jean Van de Velde
Germany - Thomas Gogele, Bernhard Langer, Sven Struver
Ireland - Padraig Harrington, Paul McGinley, Des Smyth
Japan - Isao Aoki, Tetsu Nishikawa, Tsusaka Watanabe
New Zealand - Michael Campbell, Greg Turner, Grant Waite
Scotland - Andrew Coltart, Colin Montgomerie, Gary Orr
South Africa - Ernie Els, David Frost, Retief Goosen
Spain - Miguel Angel Jimenez, Miguel Angel Martin, Jose Maria Olazabal
Sweden - Mathias Gronberg, Per-Ulrik Johansson, Patrik Sjoland
United States - John Daly, Tom Lehman, third team member to be decided
Wales - David Park, Phillip Price, Ian Woosnam
Zimbabwe - Tony Johnstone, Mark McNulty, Nick Price


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page