Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golf Today 29th February
Nigel Lane becomes first cart using Australian
Notah Begay reports for jail
Darren Clarke now sets aims even higher
British Masters prize fund increased to £800,000
Darren Clarke jumps to 14th in World Rankings

Golf Today Special

An in depth interview with golf swing guru David Leadbetter, about his relationship with six time major winner Nick Faldo and more, click here.

British Masters prize fund increased to £800,000

The 2000 British Masters at Woburn will have an increased prize pot of £800,000 (1,296,000 euros), up £100,000, with the winner scooping nearly £133,300, after a cash injection from the tournament sponsor Victor Chandler.

The UK bookmaker Victor Chandler On Course provided the backing for the event for the first time last year, won by American Bob Tway, and they have also agreed to be official European Tour bookies for the next five years.

"The first Victor Chandler British Masters demonstrated our desire to further progress this prestigious tournament, " said Victor Chandler, grandson of the company's founder.

The total prize fund puts the British Masters in line with tournaments such as the English Open, and the French Open, but it still lags behind events such as the Benson and Hedges International Open, and the Deutsche Bank-SAP Open in Germany, which offers a purse of 2,700,000 euros.

The European Tour's most lucrative tournament so far this season has been the WGC-Andersen Consulting Matchplay championship, won by Darren Clarke who pocketed over £600,000 (over 5million euros).

Ken Schofield, executive director of the European Tour, however, said they were delighted with the deal struck.

"The British Masters has a superb history, stretching back to 1946, and we look forward to the 54th edition at Woburn Golf and Country Club," he said.

The British Masters has a prestigious list of past winners including seve Ballesteros, Bob Charles, Nick Faldo, Tony Jacklin, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, Greg Norman, Lee Trevino, Peter Thompson and Colin Montgomerie.

The tournament is scheduled for August 10-13 at Woburn, Milton Keynes.


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page