Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golftoday Latest
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Nelson, Webb & Woods gain Writers Awards

Tiger Woods, Karrie Webb, and Larry Nelson were landslide winners today as players of the year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

Woods, who completed one of the greatest seasons ever in golf, previously was chosen player of the year by the PGA Tour and the PGA of America.

Webb and Nelson also were voted player of the year by the LPGA Tour and the Senior Tour, respectively.

They will be honored at the GWAA's awards dinner April 4 at Augusta, Ga.

Woods won nine PGA Tour events, the most since Sam Snead won 11 in 1950. He completed the career Grand Slam by winning the British Open at St. Andrews, and became the first player since Ben Hogan in 1953 to win three straight majors by claiming the PGA Championship.

Webb was just as dominant on the LPGA Tour in the first seven months of the season. She won two majors -- the Nabisco Dinah Shore, by 10 strokes, and the U.S. Open. The Australian finished the season with seven victories and just missed becoming the first woman to win $2 million in a season.

Nelson won six times, had seven second-place finishes, and led the Senior Tour with just over $2.7 million.


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page