Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golftoday Latest
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Remark costs Greg Chalmers $95,000

Angry at a little bit of spying, Greg Chalmers cost himself about $95,000 with an unusual and very honorable disqualification Monday at the Kemper Insurance Open.

During Chalmers' first round Thursday, at least one of the caddies in his group was engaging in the slightly devious — but legal — practice of peering at other bags to see which clubs other golfers use for certain shots.

Upset after hitting a bad tee shot, Chalmers noticed another caddie trying to look at the club. Chalmers turned and said something like: ``I hit a 6-iron — just get away from me,'' according to tournament director Mark Russell.

Under golf rules, that's a no-no. It technically violates the rule that says golfers can't give each other advice during a round, and it should result in a two-stroke penalty.

Chalmers didn't realize that until Sunday night when he heard about something similar on the Tour. He then went before Russell and the rules committee to explain what happened.

``He wanted to clear his conscience,'' Russell said.

The rules left Russell with little choice. Because he didn't incur the penalty at the time, he signed an incorrect scorecard for his round. He had to disqualify himself, even though he was tied for 12th place at 9 under par with one hole to play in the rain-delayed tournament.

If he had parred the last hole, Chalmers would have tied for ninth and earned close to $95,000.

``It just goes to show you what a gentlemen's game golf is,'' Russell said. ``If you're out at first base, you think the first baseman's going to say, `safe?'''

The episode no doubt left Chalmers more upset than anybody about the bad weather that caused the Kemper to extend into Monday. Had he brought up the matter late Sunday after a completed tournament, he would have kept his check because it would have been too late to penalize himself.

Russell did not say which say caddie received Chalmers' advice. He said the caddie did not violate a rule by receiving the advice, but would have been subject to a penalty had he asked for it.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page