Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
 
Worldwide Feature Articles
 
In association with Genuity International
For Genuity information click here
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Network News
Amateur:Hole in One Golf Society

Go-Golf:XtravagaNZa New Zealand

Industry:Portable Driving Range Covers
Golfpro:Swing Speed Meter
Ecology:Interview with STRI
Genuity sponsor European Tour player
Warren Bennett

Jim Furyk disqualified from Sun City event

The American was cut from the 12-man field after falling foul of the different rule interpretations on the PGA and European tours.

Jim Furyk was found to be in breach of the local rule of preferred lies after an incident which occurred during Thursday's first round.

The preferred lies rule states that a player can lift, clean and place his ball on the fairway within one club length of where it originally lay and not closer to the hole.

I haven't played much in Europe so I was not familiar with the rule there

Jim Furyk
But the ball can only be placed once before it is in play on the European Tour while on the PGA Tour a player may place his ball several times.

Furyk only realised his error after hearing PGA Tour rules official Mike Shea discussing the rule with Canadian Mike Weir on Friday.

"I think it happened on the 13th hole. I was in between clubs and after placing the ball once, I changed clubs and then rotated the ball 90 degrees for the new club.

"The act of stepping away from the ball was obviously in breach of the rule," said Furyk.

Furyk, who lay five strokes behind leader Ernie Els, advised tournament referee Dennis Bruyns of his infringement.

The rules state Furyk was liable for a two-shot penalty, but because he had already signed his card for Thursday's round, he was disqualified for signing for an incorrect score.

"It's unfortunate, but the fault is entirely my own," said Furyk.

"We had a players' meeting early in the week to discuss this rule, but we didn't discuss the different interpretations of it.

"I haven't played much in Europe so I was not familiar with the rule there.

"But it was clear on the sheet we were given on the first tee on Thursday what the rule implied. I should've read it more clearly.

"When I went to sleep on Friday night I had a good idea this might happen, so I'm comfortable with the decision."


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page


Genuity International, sponsors Golf Today