Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
In association with Genuity International
For Genuity information click here
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Network News
Amateur:Hole in One Golf Society

Go-Golf:XtravagaNZa New Zealand

Industry:Portable Driving Range Covers
Golfpro:Swing Speed Meter
Ecology:Interview with STRI
Genuity sponsor European Tour player
Warren Bennett

Awards for Woods, Sorenstam & Doyle

Tiger Woods, Annika Sorenstam and Allen Doyle are the winners of the Golf Writers Association of America 2001 Player of the Year Awards.

Woods has won the GWAA award three consecutive years and four of the last five. It is Sörenstam's third GWAA award -- she also won in 1997 and 1995 -- and Doyle's first. All three players will be honored at the GWAA's Annual Awards Dinner April 10, 2002 in Augusta, Ga.

Woods, 25, had seven wins world-wide and with his victory at the Masters in April, he became the first player to win all four major titles in succession. During the year, he won three consecutive starts -- the Bay Hill Invitational, The Platers Championship and the Masters. He led the PGA TOUR in scoring and was the leading money winner for the third consecutive year. He capped his season with a come-from-behind win at his own Williams World Challenge.

Sörenstam, 31, dominated women's golf. She won eight times -- including one major, the Nabisco Championships -- set a single-season earnings record of $2.106 million and became the first woman to shoot 59 in competition.

Doyle, 53, won twice, including the Ford Senior Players Championship. He had 25 top-10 finishes and led the Senior PGA Tour money list with $2.55 million. He also donated the $1 million annuity he earned for winning the inaugural Charles Schwab Cup to charity.

The GWAA, founded in 1946, has nearly 900 members. The professional organization takes an active role in protecting the interests of all golf journalists, works closely with all of golf's major governing bodies and the World Golf Hall of Fame and facilitates a scholarship/internship program which is currently helping students at 17 major U.S. universities.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page

Genuity International, sponsors Golf Today