Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golftoday Latest
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

2001 Hall of Fame nominations released

A total of 34 players are listed on the World Golf Hall of Fame ballot distributed to the 214-member voting body.

Of that number, 32 return from last year, along with newcomers Paul Azinger and Mark Calcavecchia, who have met the minimum player and membership standards for Hall of Fame consideration.

To be elected, a player must receive votes on a minimum of 65 percent of the ballots returned.

Those elected will be enshrined at the 2001 World Golf Hall of Fame induction ceremony scheduled for Nov. 12 at the World Golf Village near St. Augustine, Fla.

Azinger is a 12-time PGA Tour winner, including his 1993 PGA Championship win, and a member of three Ryder Cup teams and two Presidents Cup squads.

Calcavecchia, who set the Tour's all-time 72-hole scoring mark earlier this year, is an 11-time winner, including the 1989 British Open title. He's also been a member of three Ryder Cup teams and one Presidents Cup side.

The PGA Tour ballot is one of five ways to enter the World Golf Hall of Fame. A second method is through the International ballot. Earlier this year, Bernhard Langer was elected by the International committee.

The LPGA Hall of Fame, option number three, utilizes a points method for selection. Finally, someone may be elected through the Lifetime Achievement or Veterans category at the discretion of the World Golf Foundation Board of Directors.

The Hall of Fame nominees include:

Paul Azinger Gil Morgan
Miller BarberLarry Nelson
Tommy Bolt Greg Norman
Mark CalcavecchiaMark O'Meara
Bob CharlesCorey Pavin
Jim ColbertHenry Picard
Fred Couples Nick Price
Ben Crenshaw Denny Shute
Leo Diegel Macdonald Smith
Doug FordPayne Stewart
David FrostDave Stockton
Al Geiberger Curtis Strange
David Graham Ken Venturi
Don JanuaryLanny Wadkins
Tom Kite Tom Weiskopf
Tony LemaCraig Wood
Harold McSpadenFuzzy Zoeller 









Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page