Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Royal Liverpool to host 2006 Open

The Royal Liverpool Golf Club at Hoylake in England will stage the 2006 British Open, the Royal and Ancient Golf Club (R&A) have announced.

It will be the 11th time that Royal Liverpool has staged the world's oldest major but the first time since 1967.

Argentina's Roberto de Vicenzo won the title the last time it was played over the Royal Liverpool links before infrastructure and transport problems meant the club was withdrawn from the list of Open venues.

However, an agreement was reached with the R&A two years ago which led to the club making the necessary changes to meet the standards required of Open venues, including the purchase of an extra 10 acres of land for a new practice ground.

"Royal Liverpool is a club with a long and distinguished history and we are delighted that we are now able to bring the Open back to this wonderful course," R&A secretary Peter Dawson said in a statement on Tuesday.

"Many people have contributed to the agreements that underpin today's announcement and it is right that Royal Liverpool, which is justly regarded as one of Britain's outstanding links, will again be put to the test by the world's top golfers."

Royal Liverpool, which was founded in 1869, will host the 2006 British Open from July 20 to 23 2006. Bobby Jones won the Open when it was staged at Royal Liverpool in 1930 on his way to a unique grand slam.

South Africa's Ernie Els will defend his British Open title at Royal St George's next year, before the championship moves to Royal Troon in 2004 and St Andrews in 2005.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page