Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Network News
Amateur:Hole in One Golf Society

Go-Golf:XtravagaNZa New Zealand

Industry:Portable Driving Range Covers
Golfpro:Swing Speed Meter
Ecology:Interview with STRI

Awards for Kenny Perry & Nick Price

Kenny Perry and Nick Price have been honored with prestigious awards by the Golf Writers Association of America, GWAA officials have announced.

Perry is winner of the 2002 Charles Bartlett Award, given to a professional golfer for his unselfish contributions to the betterment of society. Price is the first recipient of the organization's new ASAP Sports/Jim Murray Award, given to a professional player for his cooperation, quotability and accommodation to the media, and for reflecting the most positive aspects of the working relationship between athlete and journalist.

The 41-year-old Perry, a four-time winner on tour, donates five percent of his earnings (he has earned $8.4 million in his career) to David Lipscomb University, his wife's alma mater, to fund a pair of scholarships. In addition, 10 years ago, Perry took out a loan to build Country Creek Golf Course, a public course in his hometown of Franklin, Ky.

Perry bought 142 acres of land and borrowed more than $2.5 million to build the only public course in the town. He designed it for 12-30 handicappers and kept it affordable -- 18 holes with a cart is $28; $12 without one.

The 45-year-old Price has won 16 PGA Tour events and 24 more worldwide, including the 1994 British Open and 1992 and 1994 PGA Championships. He has always been one of the most gracious and accessible players on tour and has gone out of his way to cooperate with reporters.

Sponsored by the ASAP Sports transcription service, Price's award is given in the spirit of the late Pulitzer Prize winner Jim Murray of the Los Angeles Times.

Perry and Price will be honored Apr. 10 at the GWAA Awards Banquet in Augusta, Ga. Among the others being honored by the 900-member organization include Players of the Year Tiger Woods, Annika Sorenstam and Allen Doyle, Ben Hogan Award winner Scott Verplank and William D. Richardson Award winner Judy Bell. Previous Bartlett winners include Tom Lehman, Payne Stewart, Billy Andrade, Brad Faxon, Scott Hoch, Betsy King and Arnold Palmer.

The 900-member GWAA takes an active role in protecting the interests of all golf journalists, works closely with all of golf's major governing bodies and the World Golf Hall of Fame, facilitates a scholarship/internship program which is currently helping 27 students at 17 major U.S. universities and is involved in library projects at First Tee programs around the country.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page