Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Els, Toms & Woods paired together

With the top hundred players in the world taking part in a major for the first time ever, this week’s US PGA at Hazeltine will be packed with fantastic groupings, but Tiger Woods will still be the main focus.

Woods, the reigning US Masters and US Open champion, is bidding to repeat his feat of two years ago by claiming three of the four major titles in a calendar year.

The world number one, a two-time PGA champion, will play the first two rounds alongside the man who won the last major to put paid to his hopes of a grand slam, British Open champion Ernie Els, and the man who won this event last year, David Toms.

Three former PGA winners have also been grouped together – 1998 champion Vijay Singh, 1997 winner Davis Love III and 1983 title-holder Hal Sutton.

World number two Phil Mickelson will play the opening two rounds with dual British Open champion Greg Norman and eight-times major winner Tom Watson.

In another big name grouping, 2001 US Open champion Retief Goosen will play with David Duval and Jose Maria Olazabal, while Spanish young gun Sergio Garcia has been grouped with last week’s winner of the Wales Open on the European Tour, 1999 British Open champion Paul Lawrie and Tom Lehman.

Australia’s Peter O'Malley has been drawn in the third group to tee off on Thursday with Billy Mayfair and Barry G. Evans, while Peter Lonard’s partners for the first two rounds will be Rocco Mediate and J.L. Lewis.

Stuart Appleby will play alongside Englishman Justin Rose and Brad Faxon, Scott Laycock’s partners will be Alan Morin and Skip Kendall, while Craig Parry is grouped with Neal Lancaster and Don Berry.

Adam Scott will open his campaign alongside Lee Westwood and Charles Howell, Steve Elkington has been grouped with Paul Azinger and Bob Tway, while Australia’s ninth representative, Robert Allenby, will have the company of Scott Hoch and Rich Beem for the first two days.

1st hole:

1315 and 1820: Dave Tentis, Pierre Fulke (Swe), Jay Haas.

1325 and 1830: Robert Gamez, Sean Farren, Ricardo Gonzalez (Arg).

1335 and 1840: Peter O'Malley (Aus), Billy Mayfair, Barry Evans.

1345 and 1850: Fuzzy Zoeller, Curtis Strange, Ian Woosnam (Wal).

1355 and 1900: Tom Lehman, Sergio Garcia (Spa) Paul Lawrie (Sco)

1405 and 1910: Rocco Mediate, Peter Lonard, (Aus), J.L. Lewis.

1415 and 1920: Angel Cabrera(Arg), Tim Herron, Cameron Beckman.

1425 and 1930: Vijay Singh (Fij), Davis Love III, Hal Sutton.

1435 and 1940: Scott Verplank, Jesper Parnevik, (Swe), Scott McCarron.

1445 and 1950: Brad Faxon, Stuart Appleby (Aus), Justin Rose (GB)

1455 and 2000: Dean Wilson, Paul McGinley, (Ire), Carl Paulson.

1505 and 2010: Fred Funk, Briny Baird, Wayne Defrancesco.

1515 and 2020: Joseph Klinchock, Steve Schneiter, Robert Thompson.

1820 and 1315: Scott Laycock (Aus), Alan Morin, Skip Kendall.

1830 and 1325: Neal Lancaster, Craig Parry (Aus), Don Berry.

1840 and 1335: K.J. Choi (S Kor), Joe Durant, John Huston.

1850 and 1345: Eduardo Romero (Arg), Kenny Perry, Kirk Triplett.

1900 and 1355: Jeff Sluman, Mark Brooks, Nick Price (Zim).

1910 and 1405: Padraig Harrington (Ire), Mark Calcavecchia, Chris DiMarco.

1920 and 1415: Len Mattiace, Shigeki Maruyama, (Jap), Loren Roberts.

1930 and 1425: Billy Andrade, Michael Campbell (NZ), Dudley Hart.

1940 and 1435: Greg Norman (Aus), Phil Mickelson, Tom Watson.

1950 and 1445: Mike Weir (Can), Kevin Sutherland, Rory Sabbatini (SA).

2000 1455: Lee Westwood (GB), Charles Howell, Adam Scott (Aus).

2010 and 1505: Joey Sindelar, Soren Hansen, (Den), Craig Stevens.

2020 and 1515: Jeffrey Lankford, Kim Thompson, Barry Mahlberg.

10th hole:

1315 and 1820: Heath Slocum, Paul Casey (GB), Rob Labritz.

1325 and 1830: Tim Clark (SA), Tim Thelen, Pat Perez.

1335 and 1840: Frank Lickliter II, Craig Perks, (NZ), Chris Smith.

1345 and 1850: Mark O'Meara, Colin Montgomerie (Sco), Lee Janzen.

1355 and 1900: Jim Furyk, Niclas Fasth (Swe), Jerry Kelly.

1405 and 1910: Steve Lowery, Thomas Bjorn, (Den), Stewart Cink.

1415 and 1920: Paul Azinger, Bob Tway, Steve Elkington (Aus).

1425 and 1930: Jose Coceres (Arg), Jim Carter, J.P. Hayes.

1435 and 1940: David Toms, Tiger Woods, Ernie Els (SA).

1445 and 1950: Matt Gogel, Bob Estes, Toshimitsu Izawa (Jap).

1455 and 2000: Greg Owen (GB), John Rollings, Shingo Katayama (Jap).

1505 and 2010: Chad Campbell, Tim Weinhart, Stephen Ames (Trin).

1515 and 2020: Kent W. Stauffer, Buddy Harston, Bill Porter.

1820 and 1315: Tom Dolby, J.J. Henry, Phillip Price (Wal).

1830 and 1325: David Peoples, Anders Hansen, (Den), Mike Gilmore.

1840 and 1335: Toru Taniguchi (Jap), David Gossett, Steve Stricker.

1850 and 1345: Spike McRoy, Jeff Maggert, Thomas Levet (Fra).

1900 and 1355: Matt Kuchar, Ian Leggatt (Can), Joel Edwards.

1910 and 1405: Darren Clarke (Ire), Justin Leonard, Duffy Waldorf.

1920 and 1415: John Daly, Larry Nelson, Nick Faldo (GB).

1930 and 1425: Robert Allenby (Aus), Scott Hoch, Rich Beem.

1940 and 1435: David Duval, Jose Maria Olazabal, (Spa), Retief Goosen (SA).

1950 and 1445: Bernhard Langer (Ger), John Cook, Taichi Teshima (Jap).

2000 and 1455: Carl Petterson (Swe), Chris Riley, Steve Flesch.

2010 and 1505: Jonathan Kaye, Bruce Zabriski, Brian Gay.

2020 and 1515: James Blair, Tim Fleming, Rick Hartmann.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page