Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Teams finalised for Seve Trophy

Seven new faces, including Paul McGinley, are in the teams for this year's Seve Trophy, which will be played at Druids Glen on April 19th to 21st.

And the inclusion of Lee Westwood and Alex Cejka as wild-cards means that Darren Clarke will have his successful foursomes and fourball partner of two years ago.

Westwood's selection by British and Irish skipper Colin Montgomerie is clearly a gamble, given the Englishman's bleak current form. But Montgomerie is hoping that the sense of occasion will inspire an experienced player who knows how to win.

For the inaugural staging of the event at Sunningdale in Millennium Year, Ian Woosnam and Jose Maria Olazabal were the wild cards. In fact, Woosnam was something of a controversial choice on that occasion, being preferred to an in-form McGinley. Either way, both players have made the current team on merit.

The battle for places on the British and Irish line-up went down to the wire in Madeira over the weekend.

With Clarke leading the British and Irish table and Niclas Fasth on top for the Continentals, Steve Webster and Andrew Oldcorn battled for the final qualifying place. As it happened, the pair were separated by one shot, with Oldcorn finishing tied 18th and Webster tied 23rd.

This was sufficient to get Webster into the team by a margin of 11,630 points.

"I'm looking forward to the challenge at Druids Glen," he said yesterday. "Obviously I was worried when Andrew got to nine under par and I was level."

The other rookie in the home line-up is England's Paul Casey.

Sergio Garcia and Bernhard Langer both qualified for the Continental line-up but declined to play. Indeed Garcia's absence over a refusal to pay him appearance money led to some harsh words from the illustrious skipper of the side.

Langer, who now spends most of his time on the US Tour, was a key member of the inaugural team, beating Woosnam by 4 and 3 in the closing singles.

That was when an improbable singles win by Ballesteros over Montgomerie gave the Continentals victory by 13 ½ to 12 ½ , Padraig Harrington beat Miguel Angel Jimenez by one hole in the anchor position while Clarke tied with Garcia.

Harrington had earlier partnered Phillip Price to a win in foursomes and a half in greensomes.

Britain and Ireland

C Montgomerie (Scotland, capt), P Casey (England), D Clarke (N Ireland), P Harrington (Rep of Ireland), D Howell (England), P Lawrie (Scotland), P McGinley (Rep of Ireland), S Webster (England), L Westwood (England), I Woosnam (Wales).

Continental Europe

S Ballesteros (Spain, captain), T Bjorn (Denmark), A Cejka (Germany), N Fasth (Sweden), M Gronberg (Sweden), R Jacquelin (France), M Angel Jimenez (Spain), R Karlsson (Sweden), T Levet (France), JM Olazabal (Spain).

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page