Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

The Tradition moves to Oregon

The Tradition, one of senior golf's four major championships, will move from Arizona to Oregon next year.

PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem announced Tuesday that The Tradition, which had been played in Scottsdale, Ariz., since 1989, will move to The Reserve Vineyards & Golf Club in Aloha, Ore., on Aug. 25-31.

The tournament will be the first official event staged in Oregon since 1982, when the Portland Golf Club hosted the U.S. Senior Open.

Jeld-Wen, an Oregon-based window and door manufacturer, will be the title sponsor.

The company was trying to land a PGA Tour event on Labor Day with the help of Peter Jacobsen, but the Tour gave that spot on the calendar to Boston for a tournament that will benefit the Tiger Woods Foundation.

Jacobsen's Portland-based production company will manage The Tradition.

"This is huge," said Jacobsen, a six-time PGA Tour winner who won't be eligible to play in the event until 2004, when he turns 50. "We were so pleased when this opportunity presented itself.

"We're starting a new era of golf in the state of Oregon."

Peter Jacobsen Productions manages the Reno-Tahoe Open and the two-day CVS Charity Classic in Rhode Island. He also ran the popular Fred Meyer Challenge, a two-day charity event that attracted players such as Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Phil Mickelson.

The Tradition is one of 35 official events of the Champions Tour. Jim Thorpe won this year's event at Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club, defeating John Jacobs on the first playoff hole.

"I know a hole in one when I see it," Portland Mayor Vera Katz said. "And I know that this is definitely an ace."

Past champions of The Tradition include Jack Nicklaus and Lee Trevino.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page