Return to the Golf Today Home PageAll the latest golf newsCoverage of all the worlds major toursFor all your golfing needsGolf Course DirectoryOut on the courseGolf related travelWhats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

George Bush to be Chairman of Presidents Cup

President George W. Bush, the 43rd President of the United States of America, has accepted an invitation to be Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup when it returns to the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in 2005.

"We are honored that President Bush has accepted our invitation to be Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup when it returns to the United States in 2005," said PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem.

"President Bush is a great supporter of the game and his involvement will only serve to enhance the stature of The Presidents Cup."

President Bush joins a distinguished group of world leaders who have held the position of Honorary Chairman at The Presidents Cup. He is preceded by President Thabo Mbeki, President of the Republic of South Africa, who is this year's Honorary Chairman.

President Gerald Ford was the Honorary Chairman at the inaugural Presidents Cup in 1994, and was followed by President George H.W. Bush in 1996. Australian Prime Minister John Howard was Honorary Chairman in 1998 when the event was held in Melbourne, Australia, and was followed by President Bill Clinton in 2000.

The fifth playing of the biennial team match play event will be Nov. 18-23 at The Links Course at Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estate in George, South Africa. The Presidents Cup will return to Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Lake Manassas, Va., for the fourth time in 2005.

This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page