Return to the Golf Today Home PageAll the latest golf newsCoverage of all the worlds major toursFor all your golfing needsGolf Course DirectoryOut on the courseGolf related travelWhats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Presidents cup will cost some World Cup teams

Three countries could be knocked out of the World Cup because Vijay Singh of Fiji, Nick Price of Zimbabwe and Mike Weir of Canada -- all of whom are in the Presidents Cup -- have elected not to play.

Three other countries involved in the Presidents Cup, including the United States, will not be sending their top two players.

The World Cup will be played Nov. 13-16 at Kiawah Island, S.C. The Presidents Cup starts four days later in South Africa.

``The Presidents Cup is too important,'' Weir said. ``It's a long way to go over there. When I went to South Africa two years ago, I got in Monday and didn't feel good until Saturday. I want to be ready.''

The World Cup has 24 two-man teams, 18 of which are determined by the top available players from the world ranking.

While Tiger Woods (No. 1) and Davis Love III (No. 4) have told the PGA Tour they aren't going, there are plenty of Americans high in the rankings to take their spot. The same is true for countries like South Africa and Australia.

But Singh at No. 3 in the world is the only highly ranked player from Fiji. Weir is No. 6, and the next Canadian is Ian Leggatt at No. 204. Zimbabwe also doesn't have another player among the top 200 in the world ranking.

They will be replaced by Trinidad & Tobago (Stephen Ames at No. 109), France (Thomas Levet at No. 129) and Paraguay (Carlos Franco at No. 166).

U.S. Open champion Jim Furyk is No. 5 said he was 90 percent sure he would represent the United States, although he did not know Thursday whom his teammate would be. Kenny Perry was the next American available.

``I've got to figure it out by tomorrow,'' Furyk said Thursday afternoon.

The deadline for the field is 5 p.m. Friday.

Japan is the defending champion and will be represented by Shigeki Maruyama and Hidemichi Tanaka.

Ernie Els and Retief Goosen are playing in the Presidents Cup, and South Africa will be represented by Trevor Immelman and Rory Sabbatini.

Because Robert Allenby and Adam Scott will be at the Presidents Cup, Australia will send Stuart Appleby and Stephen Leaney. Appleby is also on the International team at the Presidents Cup.

The only other Presidents Cup player who is going to the World Cup is K.J. Choi of South Korea; otherwise, his nation would have been without a team.

This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page