Return to the Golf Today Home PageAll the latest golf newsCoverage of all the worlds major toursFor all your golfing needsGolf Course DirectoryOut on the courseGolf related travelWhats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Tiger Woods wins Mark McCormack award

The Governing Board of the Official World Golf Ranking announced Tuesday that Tiger Woods is the recipient of the 2002 Mark H. McCormack Award. Woods also won the award 1998-2001.

The award is presented annually to the player who holds the No. 1 position on the Official World Golf Ranking for the greatest number of weeks in each calendar year. Woods held the top position on the Official World Golf Ranking every week last year.

This week marks the 187th consecutive week that Woods has held the top ranking. The previous record was held by Greg Norman, who was ranked No. 1 for 96 consecutive weeks between June 18, 1995 - April 13, 1997.

The award was created in 1998 by the Governing Board to honor the chairman and CEO of International Management Group, Mark H. McCormack, for the significant role he played in founding a world ranking system for professional golf.

"Tiger's dominance of the Official World Golf Ranking is a tremendous achievement," said PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem. "At the same time that we applaud Tiger's success we also send our thoughts and prayers to the McCormack family for Mark's continued recovery."

McCormack has been in a coma since early January when he went into cardiac arrest.

The concept for a world ranking for men's professional golf began with McCormack in 1986. During the 1986 Masters Tournament, McCormack launched the Sony Ranking, which was sanctioned by the Championship Committee of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews.

In July 1997, the five major international golf tours joined representatives from the four major championships, who had been members of the Governing Board since 1987. This marked the first time that the leaders of all the world's major golf organizations had joined together to serve in a governing capacity.


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page