Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Four clinch automatic Ryder Cup places

Britons Paul Casey, David Howell and Ian Poulter and Ireland's Paul McGinley cemented their places in the European Ryder Cup team with top-25 finishes at the BMW International Open on Sunday.

The quartet held on to the seventh, eighth, ninth and 10th automatic selection spots they had occupied at the start of the week, despite a strong challenge in Munich by Sweden's Fredrik Jacobson, who closed with a 69.

Casey fired a seven-under-par 65 to tie for third, Howell carded a 69 for a share of 22nd and Poulter's 70 earned him a tie for 25th as the trio joined Frenchman Thomas Levet as rookies on Bernhard Langer's team.

McGinley, who holed the winning putt for Europe in the 2002 Ryder Cup at The Belfry, climbed into a tie for sixth in Munich after a final-round 68, level with Jacobson.

The quartet were the leading four players in the European points standings at the end of this week, not already in Langer's team via the world points table, and automatically qualified to take on the United States from September 17-19.

Levet had already secured his Cup spot via the points standings before the Munich event.

Langer will add his two wildcard picks later on Sunday.

The 10 automatic qualifiers who will represent Europe against the U.S. at Oakland Hills in Detroit, Michigan next month are: Padraig Harrington (Ireland), Sergio Garcia (Spain), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain), Darren Clarke (Britain), Lee Westwood (Britain), Thomas Levet (France), Paul Casey (Britain), David Howell (Britain), Ian Poulter (Britain), Paul McGinley (Ireland).

U.S. team (finalised after this month's U.S. PGA Championship): Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Jim Furyk, Kenny Perry, David Toms, Chad Campbell, Chris DiMarco, Fred Funk, Chris Riley, Jay Haas and Stewart Cink.

This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page