Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

Singh claims PGA Player of the Year Award

Vijay Singh, whose eight victories this season rank among the finest achievements in golf history, has clinched his first PGA Player of the Year Award. Singh has accumulated 140 total points heading into his title defense in this week's Funai Classic.

Phil Mickelson, who is second with 75 points, cannot overtake Singh, even with victories in the final three weeks. Ernie Els is third with 63 points.

Since 1948, The PGA of America has honored the game's best players with the PGA Player of the Year Award. The award is determined by a point system for tournament wins, official money standing and scoring average. Points are tabulated from Jan. 1 through The Tour Championship, which will be played at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta from Nov. 4-7.

Singh also leads the Vardon Trophy standings, posting a 68.92 adjusted scoring average through 98 rounds. Singh can win his first Vardon Trophy by having no incomplete rounds through the end of the season.

Singh earned 100 points for victories, including 30 for his win in the PGA Championship in August along with 70 for his seven other titles. Singh also received 20 points for leading the season money list and 20 more points for leading the Vardon Trophy scoring race.

Mickelson, winner of the Masters and the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic, is tied for second in the Vardon Trophy standings with Ernie Els. Both players have a 68.96 adjusted scoring average.

Since 1937, the Vardon Trophy, named in honor of famed British golfer Harry Vardon, is awarded annually to the pro with the lowest adjusted scoring average. It is based on a minimum of 60 rounds, with no incomplete rounds, in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA Tour.

This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page