Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father

World Cup teams announced

The 18 exempt nations for the 2004 World Golf Championships-World Cup have been announced. The US$4 million event featuring two-man teams from 24 nations around the world will be held Nov. 16-21 at Real Club de Golf de Sevilla in Sevilla, Spain.

Spain, represented by Sergio Garcia and Miguel Angel Jimenez, the 12th and 20th-ranked players in the Official World Golf Ranking respectively, is the host country and is looking to win the event for the fifth time in the event's 51-year history. Rory Sabbatini and Trevor Immelman of South Africa will attempt to successfully defend the title they won last year at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort on Kiawah Island, South Carolina, USA.

Players qualified for this year's World Cup by virtue of their standings in the Official World Golf Ranking as of Sept. 20. The highest ranked available players representing 18 countries automatically qualified for the event.

The following are the 18 exempt nations listed alphabetically:
* Argentina (Angel Cabrera/Eduardo Romero)
* Australia (Stephen Leaney/Nick O'Hern)
* Austria (Markus Brier/Martin Wiegele)
* Chinese Taipei (Wang Ter Chang/Lu Wei Chih)
* Colombia (Jose Garrido/Manuel Merizalde)
* Denmark (Anders Hansen/Soren Kjeldsen)
* England (Paul Casey/Luke Donald)
* France (Thomas Levet/Raphael Jacquelin)
* Germany (Marcel Siem/Kariem Baraka)
* Holland (Maarten Lafeber/Robert-Jan Derksen)
* Ireland (Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley)
* Italy (Allesandro Tadini/Andrea Merstroni)
* Japan (Shigeki Mauryama/Hidemichi Tanaka)
* Korea (Shin Yong-Jin/Kim Dae-Sub)
* Mexico (Pablo del Olmo/Alejandro Quiroz)
* Myanmar (Kyi Hla Han/Soe Kyaw Naing)
* New Zealand (David Smail/Craig Perks)
* Paraguay (Carlos Franco/Marco Ruiz)
* Scotland (Scott Drummond/Alastair Forsyth)
* South Africa (Rory Sabbatini/Trevor Immelman)
* Spain (Sergio Garcia/Miguel Angel Jimenez)
* Sweden (Fredrick Jacobson/Joakim Haeggman)
* United States (Scott Verplank/Bob Tway)
* Wales (Phillip Price/Bradley Dredge)

This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page