Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Related Stories
Jay Haas deciding which direction to take
Jay Haas wants Ryder Cup to change format
Jay & Bill Haas win CVS Charity Classic
81st US PGA Championship 1999

Jay Haas to receive Bob Jones Award

PGA Tour veteran Jay Haas has been selected as the recipient of the United States Golf Association (USGA) Bob Jones Award, the USGA said on Monday.

Haas, 52, has won nine times on the PGA Tour since turning professional in 1976, the last being at the 1993 Texas Open.

Known for his consistency, he has piled up career earnings of just under $14 million on the PGA Tour, his most lucrative seasons coming in 2003 and last year.

Presented annually since 1955, the Bob Jones Award is given in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf.

"The award seeks to recognize a person who emulates Jones's spirit, his personal qualities and his attitude toward the game and its players," the USGA said in a statement.

American Bobby Jones, widely acknowledged as the greatest amateur in the game's history, founded the U.S. Masters in 1934.

He won four U.S. Opens, three British Opens and five U.S. amateur crowns between 1922 and 1930, when he retired from competitive golf at the age of 28 after completing a grand slam of the majors.

The 2006 Bob Jones Award will be presented on February 4 at the USGA's annual meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page