Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Related Stories
Karrie Webb looking forward to Hall of Fame
Sifford leads new Hall of Fame inductees
Hall of fame induction criteria

Vijay Singh tops 2005 Hall of Fame candidates

Vijay Singh, 2004 PGA Tour Player of the Year, headlines a list of 33 golfers on the 2005 World Golf Hall of Fame ballots, which were mailed out this week.

Singh won nine times in 2004, including the PGA Championship, on his way to earning a record $10,905,166 and overtaking Tiger Woods as the No. 1 player in the Official World Golf Ranking. Singh has already won the 2005 Sony Open in Hawaii to bring his career PGA Tour victory total to 25.

In all, 19 of the 22 PGA Tour/Champions Tour ballot candidates are major winners, including active Champions Tour members Larry Nelson and Fuzzy Zoeller, who added victories in 2004.

Nelson, winner of 10 PGA Tour events, including two PGA Championships and a U.S. Open, added two Champions Tour wins in 2004, bringing his Champions Tour victory total to 21. Zoeller, whose 10 PGA Tour victories included the 1979 Masters and 1984 U.S. Open, added his third Champions Tour title at the 2004 MasterCard Championship.

Two-time U.S. Open winner Curtis Strange is the leading returning vote-getter on the PGA Tour/Champions Tour ballot.

The balloting, which includes both the PGA Tour/Champions Tour and International ballots, will decide the “Class of 2005,” which will be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame on November 14.

The 2005 International Ballot consists of 11 golfers who have compiled a minimum of 50 points based on victories and team achievements. Japan’s Ayako Okamoto is the leading returning vote-getter. Colin Montgomerie added to his list of accomplishments in 2004, winning once and extending his unbeaten Ryder Cup singles matches streak to seven.

Nomination forms for the Lifetime Achievement and Veteran’s categories also were distributed. Ballots and nomination forms must be returned by March 28. The Class of 2005 will be announced later this spring.


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page