Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Related Stories
Phil Mickelson goes Italian for Masters meal
Phil Mickelson plots career to age 40
Phil Mickelson looking in prime form

Phil Mickelson wins West Coast Swing award

Phil Mickelson has captured the PGA Tour West Coast Swing presented by Allianz for a second consecutive year, and third time overall.

Mickelson, who won the FBR Open and AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am back-to-back weeks in February, receives a $500,000 winner's bonus, presented to the player who accumulates the most points during the nine-tournament West Coast Swing, based on top-10 performances.

Adam Scott finished runner-up and will collect $300,000, while David Toms earned $200,000 for third. Mickelson finished with 203.125 points, while Scott had 160.41 and Toms, 157.500.

Mickelson entered this week's World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship in first place and one of eight players who had a chance to win or share the "King of the Swing" title.

Mickelson began the week with 200 points, followed by Woods at 155 and Scott and Vijay Singh, who had 131.666.

Mickelson lost in the third round of the Accenture Match Play Championship, earning 3.125 points for his tie for ninth. Woods and Singh both lost in the second round, eliminating them from contention.

Scott was the last player to have a chance, but was eliminated from contention with his loss to David Toms in the quarterfinals. Toms moved into third place with his victory in the Accenture Match Play Championship.

Mickelson previously won the "King of the Swing" title in 1998 and 2004. Tiger Woods earned the title in 1999-2000, Davis Love III captured the 2001 title, Chris DiMarco in 2002 and Mike Weir won in 2003.


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page