Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Related Stories
Vijay Singh elected to World Golf Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame to reveal new Arnold Palmer exhibit
Faldo & Miller inducted into Hall of Fame

Ayako Okamoto voted into Hall of Fame

Ayako Okamoto, who won 62 times around the world and became the only Japanese player to win the LPGA Tour money title, has been elected to the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Okamoto was elected on the International ballot, the Hall of Fame announced Monday. She earned 52 percent of votes cast by writers, Hall of Fame members and golf officials, and joins Vijay Singh -- previously elected from the PGA Tour ballot -- in this year's class.

Neither received the minimum 65 percent for election. However, the Hall of Fame added a stipulation two years ago that if no candidate receives the minimum, the player with the most votes will be elected as long as that player gets at least 50 percent of the vote.

Jumbo Ozaki received 48 percent of the vote and two-time major winner Sandy Lyle got 29 percent. Rounding out the top five were Kel Nagle (25 percent) and Ian Woosnam (25 percent).

``It is hard to express in words my joy in becoming a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame,'' Okamoto said. ``I never dreamt the choices I made during my 30-year career would lead me to join the ranks of the most respected players in the history of golf.''

The induction ceremony is Nov. 14 at the World Golf Village. Singh has not decided whether he will be inducted this year or defer until next year because of a scheduling conflict.

Okamoto was voted among the top 50 players and teachers during the LPGA's 50-year anniversary in 2000. She won 17 times on the LPGA Tour, including four times in 1987 when she was the LPGA player of the year and captured the money title.

This is the third straight year a Japanese player enters the Hall of Fame. Isao Aoki was elected last year, and Chako Higuchi was selected in 2003.


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page