Return to the Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on, message board, links and more!
Worldwide Feature Articles
Top Stories
PGA: Stephen Ames coasts to six shot win
PGA: Tiger Woods ends difficult week with 75
Euro: Van de Velde ends 13 year victory wait
Stephen Ames vaults to World No. 27
Boost for the Philippine Open
Tiger Woods misses practice to be with father
Related Stories
Jose Maria Olazabal to Captain in Seve Trophy
The Seve Trophy 2003 - Event Preview
Montgomerie gets serious over Seve Trophy
Seve Trophy heading to the Northeast

Casey & Levet claim Seve Trophy Wildcard spots

Paul Casey has been confirmed as Colin Montgomerie's wild card selection for the Seve Trophy next week.

The Englishman is named as the 10th member of the Great Britain and Ireland side while Continental Europe captain Jose Maria Olazabal settled for Thomas Levet.

Casey endured a run of six missed cuts earlier in the season having won in China in March but he looks to have found his form again finishing third at the European Masters and joint seventh at the German Masters last week.

"I feel fortunate I can pick someone of Paul Casey's stature with Ryder Cup experience who will give the Great Britain & Ireland team opportunity to win the Seve Trophy for the third time in a row," explained Montgomerie.

"I am looking forward to taking the lead with this talented team as we try to make it three wins in a row. We won a hard-fought victory in Valencia two years ago and I'm determined that we hold on to the trophy we first captured at Druid's Glen in 2002."

Olazabal, who took over as captain after Seve Ballesteros was ruled out of playing by injury, added that Levet got the nod due to his experience in the team arena.

"I selected Thomas Levet as my wild card pick because he is playing well and he has played in both previous Ryder Cup and Seve Trophy matches," said the Spaniard.

"I have no doubt that this Continental Europe team is strong enough to regain the trophy and we will be competing hard to do so over all four days of the event."

Great Britain & Ireland

Colin Montgomerie (capt) (Scot)
Paul Casey (Eng)
Stephen Dodd (Wal)
Nick Dougherty (Eng)
Bradley Dredge (Wal)
Padraig Harrington (Ire)
David Howell (Eng)
Paul McGinley (Ire)
Graeme McDowell (N.Ire)
Ian Poulter (Eng)

Continental Europe

José Maria Olazábal (capt) (Sp)
Thomas Björn (Den)
Emanuele Canonica (It)
Niclas Fasth (Swe)
Peter Hanson (Swe)
Miguel Angel Jiménez (Sp)
Maarten Lafeber (NL)
Thomas Levet (Fra)
Henrik Stenson (Swe)
Jean-François Remesy (Fra)


This years news archive | Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page