About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2006 Archive >


Woods, Ochoa & Haas get GWAA Awards

Tiger Woods was voted player of the year for a record eighth time by the Golf Writers Association of America, which selected Lorena Ochoa the best female player.

Jay Haas was chosen the top senior player.

Woods became the first player in history to win multiple majors in consecutive years, capturing the British Open and the PGA Championship among his eight PGA Tour victories. He finished the season with six consecutive PGA Tour victories.

He won 97 percent of the vote on a ballot that included Masters champion Phil Mickelson and U.S. Open champion Geoff Ogilvy. Woods has won the GWAA award every year except 1998 and 2004 since his first full season as a pro.

Ochoa, the 24-year-old from Mexico, won six times on the LPGA Tour and swept its major honors by leading the money list with over $2.5 million, winning the Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average and winning its points-based player of the year. She got 87 percent of the vote against U.S. Women's Open champion Annika Sorenstam and Kraft Nabisco champion Karrie Webb.

Haas had four victories on the Champions Tour, including the Senior PGA Championship, and he narrowly defeated Loren Roberts in the Charles Schwab Cup. He led the 50-and-older circuit with $2.4 million.

The players will be honored April 4 at the GWAA annual dinner in Augusta, Ga.

December 19, 2006


Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014