About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2006 Archive >


LET Winners invited to Mauritius Open

This year’s winners from the Ladies European Tour will be invited to play in the 2006 Mauritius Open, an end-of-season festival of golf at the beautiful Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel, which takes place from December 15-17.

This unique 54-hole event will be made up of players from the European Tour, the Seniors Tour and the Ladies European Tour, with a separate women’s category with its own prize fund.

The Mauritius Open organisers have chosen to invite a total of 21 Ladies European Tour players to this year’s event, comprising the winners from the 2006 season with the remaining places to be filled by the leading players on the final New Star Money List.

To date the qualifiers are: Riikka Hakkarainen (winner of the Tenerife Ladies Open); Lynnette Brooky (winner of the Open De Espana Femenino - Castellon 2006); Gwladys Nocera (winner of the Deutsche Bank Ladies' Swiss Open and the BMW Ladies Italian Open); Veronica Zorzi (winner of the Vediorbis Open de France); and Stephanie Arricau (winner of the KLM Ladies Open and the Estoril Ladies Open of Portugal).

Alexandra Armas, executive director of the Ladies European Tour, commented: “We are delighted to support the 2006 Mauritius Open and I am sure that the Ladies European Tour’s players will look forward to playing in the beautiful surroundings of the Constance Belle Mare Plage Resort.

“Over the last three years the Ladies European Tour’s players have enjoyed superb hospitality on the island and we have produced some top quality winners including Ludivine Kreutz of France, who won the women’s title in 2005, as well as Gwladys Nocera and Kirsty Taylor who won in 2004 and 2003.”

Since its inception in 1994, the Mauritius Open has been played out by some of Europe’s top professionals including Constantino Rocca, Nick Dougherty and Ian Poulter as well as a number of selected amateurs.

England’s Michael McLean won the inaugural Mauritius Open in 1994 and repeated his success in 2000. The other winners are as follows: Marcello Santo of Italy (1995); Philip Golding of England (1996); Gordon Sherry of Scotland (1996); Rodger Davis of Australia (1998); Jonathan Lomas of England (1999); Sébastien Delagrange of France (2001); Mark Mouland of Wales (2002 and 2003); and Miles Tunnicliff of England (2004 and 2005).

Simon Clough, Golf Director at the Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel said: “Constance Belle Mare Plage is delighted to be associating with the Ladies European Tour to invite all the winners from the 2006 season to participate in the Mauritius Open. Along with players from the Seniors and the regular European Tour, we have created a very special and unique tournament.

“We look forward to welcoming the Ladies and having them sample the delights of our hotel, golf courses and the legendary Mauritius hospitality.”

July 11, 2006


Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014