About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2006 Archive >


Royal Trophy teams completed

Captains Seve Ballesteros and Naomichi "Joe" Ozaki have confirmed their teams for next month's Asia v Europe Royal Trophy match play event in Bangkok, organisers said on Tuesday.

Asia will be looking to turn the tables on Europe after their 9-7 defeat in the inaugural edition earlier this year, and will face a side including five members of the Ryder Cup team that beat the United States in September.

The two eight-man teams will play fourball, foursomes and singles matches over three days at the Amata Springs Country Club in Bangkok from Jan. 12.

The European team includes, four Swedes -- Johan Edfors Niclas Fasth, Henrik Stenson and Robert Karlsson -- Irish pair Darren Clarke and Paul McGinley, and Englishmen Lee Westwood and Anthony Wall.

Osaki's team includes Japanese pair Toru Taniguchi and Tetsuji Hiratsuka, South Koreans Yang Yong-eun and SK Ho, and Thai trio Thaworn Wiratchant, Prom Meesawat and Thongchai Jaidee.

Asia Tour order of merit winner Jeev Milkha Singh of India completes the octet.

Ozaki said he hoped the home support would help his team, although he admitted the Bangkok crowd would be expecting a good showing after the close contest in the first edition.

"We will be representing all of Asia, which includes many nations and a massive population of over three billion people," he said in a statement.

"That adds up to a lot of support -- and a lot of expectation."

The competition will be played in Thailand for the next four years to honour the Diamond Jubilee of the trophy's donor, King Bhumibol Adulyadej.

The venue will alternate between the two continents after 2010.


Asia: Tetsuji Hiratsuka, S.K. Ho, Thongchai Jaidee, Prom Meesawat, Jeev Milkha Singh, Toru Taniguchi, Thaworn Wiratchant, Yang Yong-eun. Captain: Joe Ozaki

Europe: Darren Clarke, Johan Edfors, Niclas Fasth, Robert Karlsson, Paul McGinley, Henrik Stenson, Anthony Wall, Lee Westwood. Captain: Seve Ballesteros.

December 19, 2006


Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014