Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles
Golf Hall of Fame
Couples heads additions to Hall of Fame ballot
Ballesteros, Alcott & Mangrum enter Hall of Fame
World Golf Hall Of Fame Induction Criteria
World Golf Hall Of Fame Induction Criteria

Steve Elkington's victory last week at the Doral-Ryder Open, his 10th on the PGA Tour, edged him closer to being considered World Golf Hall of Fame material.

Under PGA Tour criteria, a player must be at least 40 years old and have ten years of active membership. Player eligibility requires ten PGA Tour wins, or at least two victories among the four majors and the Players Championship.

Elkington had already met the requirements after winning a PGA Championship and two Players Championships, but capturing his tenth victory will only strengthen his case when he turns 40 in four years.

Senior PGA Tour players must have five years active membership and 20 wins between the PGA Tour and Senior PGA Tour or five victories on either Tour and a Senior Tour major.

International players are placed on the ballot on separate criteria. They must be 40 years old and not eligible through the PGA Tour ballot or LPGA criteria. A player must achieve a minimum of 50 points from a schedule based on international competition.

In all cases, a player must be named on 75 percent of the ballots after meeting the criteria in their respective area.

The 1999 World Golf Hall Of Fame induction ceremonies will be held on March 22 at World Golf Village. Lloyd Mangrum will be inducted posthumously from the PGA Tour while Seve Ballesteros qualified off the International ballot.

Amy Alcott has surpassed LPGA standards, changed earlier this year, and will also be inducted on March 22. Beth Daniel also is qualified, but she has deferred her induction until next year when the LPGA Tour celebrates its 50th anniversary.

In order for an LPGA player to be considered, she must have ten years of active membership and the accumulation of 27 points from the following schedule: two points for a major win, one point for an LPGA Tour victory, one point for the scoring title and one point for being named Player of the Year.

Currently, 14 women belong to the World Golf Hall of Fame.