Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles

Price wins South African Golfer of the Year award

Nick Price was awarded the Golfer of the Year award at a gala event in Sandton on Monday 11 January 1999. Price's win over world number one Tiger Woods in a thrilling playoff at the Nedbank Million Dollar Challenge was the clincher. He also won the Zimbabwe Open and the Dimension Data Pro Am on the Vodacom Tour. On the US Tour, he won the Fedex St Jude Classic.

A number of important awards were made in respect of the Vodacom Tour.

The Bobby Locke Rookie of the year award went to Richard Fulford. He won just over R37,000 in 18 events, including a number of top ten finishes. The Gary Player Award for the Leading Stroke Average on the Vodacom Tour was won by Mark McNulty. He played 24 rounds at an average of 69.54 per round. McNulty also won the Sid Brews Award for the Leader of the Order of Merit.

Other awards made at the event:

Number One Golf Course in South Africa: Durban Country Club

Junior Golfer of the Year: Hanno de Weerd
SA Schools Champions (also World Schools Champions): Wesley Botha, Gareth Botha, Tyrone van Aswegen, Damelin College.
Men's Amateur Golfer of the Year: Trevor Immelman
Women's Amateur Golfer of the Year: Wendy Warrington

Compleat Golfer Mid Amateur Champion: Neville Clarke
Club Professional of the Year: Phil Simmonds
Club Pro Champion: Teddy Webber
Remax SA Long Drive Champion: Adriaan van Rensburg

Contribution to golf: Nigel Tipping (Chairman of the Nomads Golf Club)