Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles

Big names fade at Scottish Amateur

Three Scotland internationals made their exits on Wednesday at the third round stage of the Johnnie Walker Scottish Amateur Championship at Cruden Bay.

The 1997 Amateur champion Craig Watson, who led for most of his match against Newmachar 19-year-old Graham Gordon, eventually slumped to a three and one defeat.

"That has to be the biggest win of my career," Gordon said. "It was hard early on because every time I got back square, I'd seem to lose the next hole right away. But I just kept telling myself to keep grinding it out and try and take my chance if it came - which is what I did."

Mortonhall's David Patrick, who is hopeful of a place in the Great Britain and Ireland Walker Cup team to play America at Nairn in September, did his chances little good when he went down on the 22nd green to Lundin 18-year-old Peter Whiteford.

West Kilbride's 22-year-old Graham Fox who, like Patrick, surrendered in extra holes, lost on the 21st green to Ian McLennan of Machrihanish.

There were no problems for the players seeded to meet in Saturday's 36 hole final, Cowal's Lorne Kelly and defending champion Graham Rankin of Drumpellier.

Kelly beat Graeme Dawson of Ranfurly Castle four and three while Rankin ended the hopes of one of the host club players, Graham Somers, three and one.


2nd Rd:

(2nd Quarter)
A McArthur (Windyhill) bt C Millan (Cruden Bay) 5 and 3
DMartin (Hawick) bt C Bell (Whitecraigs) 4 and 3

(3rd Quarter)
C Watson (East Renfrewshire) bt D Connolly (West Kilbride) 5 and 4
G Gordon (Newmachar) bt R Blair (Ardeer) 3 and 2
G Bolton (Rothesay) bt L Rowan (Scotscraig) 2 and 1
D Sneddon (Lanark) bt E Ramsay (Carnoustie) w/o
T McLevy (Blairgowrie) bt O Lindsay (Royal Burgess) 4 and 3
J White (LevenThistle) bt S Horne (Tulliallan) 3 and 2
C Dunan (Buchanan Castle) bt B Wood(Hazlehead) w/o
F Hutchison (Dunfermline) bt J Doherty (Vale of Glamorgan) 2holes
R Napier (Dunnikier Park) bt G Meikle (Thornton) 5 and 4
G Munro(Ranfurly Castle) bt R Thornton (Cardross) 3 and 2
S McCulloch (Cruden Bay) btK Milne (Cruden Bay) 6 and 5
S MacIntosh (Cardross) bt R Beames (Carnegie Club)2 holes
G Fox (West Kilbride) bt S Docherty (Cruden Bay) 5 and 4
I McLennan(Machrihanish) bt M Peterson (Newbattle) 4 and 2
L McMichael (Thornhill) bt JMartin (Lanark) 2 and 1
A Forsyth (Muckhart) bt W Beveridge (Burntisland) 2holes

(4th Quarter)
M Loftus (Cowglen) bt C Checkley (Vale of Leven) 1 hole
JPaterson (Hayston) bt C MacLean (Machrihanish) 5 and 3
A Laurence (Baberton) bt N Smith (Cruden Bay) 6 and 5
S Macauley (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt G Rodger(Cambuslang) 2 and 1
M Thomson (Torwoodlee) bt N Gold (Bonnyton) 2 holes
TMcKeown (Milngavie) bt A Campbell (Murcar) 2 and 1
B Adam (Ratho Park) bt GMackenzie (Elderslie) 2 and 1
D McCreadie (Bellshill) bt C Fraser(Innerleithen) 1 hole
C Campbell (Grantown-on-Spey) bt J Hughes (Cardross) 4and 3
B Anderson (Comrie) bt D Robertson (Alyth) at 19th
M Timmins(Prestonfield) bt J McMahon (Cardross) 3 and 2
G Campbell (Blairgowrie) bt GCooper (Helensburgh) 5 and 4
L Kelly (Cowal) bt J Miller (Airdrie) & M Warren(East Kilbride) w/o
G Dawson (Ranfurly Castle) bt M Watt (Prestonfield) 3 and1
S Loughrey (Hayston) bt A Buchan (Cruden Bay) 3 and 2
A Laing (Douglas) bt LPhillips (Cruden Bay) 5 and 4

3rd rd:

(1st Quarter)
J Yuille (Royal Burgess) bt A Weir (Longniddry) 5 and 4
GRankin (Drumpellier) bt G Somers (Bon Accord) 3 and 1
S Robertson (Cruden Bay) bt A Ritchie (Strathaven) 4 and 3
I Buchan (Cruden Bay) bt A Cooper (TaymouthCastle) 3 and 1
S Wallace (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt S Davidson (Northern) 3and 2
J Fraser (Murcar) bt J Farmer (St Andrews) 3 and 2
E Forbes (Turriff) btN Mitchell (Murcar) 1 hole
W Bryson (Drumpellier) bt M Kerr (Craigmillar Park)2 and 1

(2nd quarter)
S Mackenzie (West Linton) bt S Whiteford (Lundin) 4 and 3
BHume (Haggs Castle) bt W Anderson (Cambuslang) at 19th
D McMillan (Lanark) bt D Weir (Lundin) 2 and 1
C Heap (East Kilbride) bt A Jessop (Royal Montrose) 4 and3
S O'Hara (Colville Park) bt D Owens (Kilmacolm) 3 and 2
C Gordon (Ratho Park) bt R Alexander (Haggs Castle) 2 and 1
P Whiteford (Lundin) bt D Patrick (Mortonhall) at 22nd
McArthur beat Martin 1 hole

(3rd quarter)
Gordon bt Watson 3 and 1
Bolton bt Sneddon 4 and 3
McLevy btWhite 1 hole
Hutchison bt Dunan 4 and 3
Munro bt Napier 2 and 1
McCulloch btMacIntosh 4 and 3
McLennan bt Fox at 21st
Forsyth bt McMichael 1 hole

(4th Quarter)
Loftus bt Paterson 3 and 2
Laurence bt Macauley at 21st
Thomson bt McKeown 4 and 3
Adam bt McCreadie 1 hole
C Campbell bt Anderson 1hole
Timmins bt G Campbell 3 and 2
Kelly bt Dawson 4 and 3
Loughrey bt Laing 4 and 3