Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles
Walker Cup
1999 Event Coverage
Yates to captain US 2001 Walker Cup team
Yates named '99 Walker Cup captain
Great Britain and Ireland's Walker Cup team announced
Donald leads GBI Walker Cup hopes

Great Britain and Ireland's Walker Cup team announced

Gary Wolstenholme and Graham Rankin, both members of the 1995 and 1997 Walker Cup teams, have again been selected for the match against the United States at Narin Golf Club on Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th September.

Wolstenholme, 38, has played at international level since his first cap for England in 1988 and last year represented GB&I in the team which won the Eisenhower Trophy in Chile. Rankin, 33, has been Scotland's top player over the last three years, this being underlined by his win in the 1998 Scottish Amateur at Prestwick and this year's Scottish Stroke Play at St. Andrews.

Luke Donald, Paddy Gribben and Loren Kelly, the other members of the Eisenhower Trophy team have also been selected.

Donald, 21, is an art major at Northwestern University in Chicago and earlier this year won the individual title in the NCAA Championships at Hazeltine National with a four under par total of 284. He was voted 'Player of the Year' and topped the scoring averages for the college season.

Gribben, 30, is the current European Individual Amateur Champion and the holder of the North of Ireland title. Kelly, 25, played for GB&I in last year's St. Andrews Trophy match and has many tournament wins to his name including the Lytham Trophy and the Scottish Stroke Play.

Amateur Champion Graeme Storm, 21, is also selected for the 10 man team following his win at Royal County Down in June. He is joined by newly crowned English Champion Paul Casey, 22, and Simon Dyson, 21, whom Casey beat in the 36 hole final at St. Mellion. Casey has been based at Arizona State University for the past two years where he has had numerous successes.

The sixth English player in the team is Philip Rowe, 20, a quarter finalist in the English Amateur for whom the selection adds to his previous representation at Boys level when he was the captain.

Completing the side is Mortonhall's David Patrick, 24, who earlier this year had wins in the Scottish Champion of Champions at Leven and in the St. Andrews Links Trophy. In 1998 he represented GB&I in the St. Andrews Trophy in Italy.

Chairman of Selectors, Peter Benka said, "We have a very solid looking team. As holders of the Eisenhower Trophy, we go into this match as World Champions and I am very excited about our prospects. What counts now is to produce the right performance on the day and I am confident that our experienced captain, Peter McEvoy can achieve this for the team".

The Walker Cup was first contested in 1922 when the R&A sent a team to play against the USA at the Golf Links of America, New York. The United States lead the series with 31 wins to 4 with 1 match halved.

Great Britain and Ireland Team
Name Age Home club
Paul Casey 22 Burhill
Luke Donald 21 Beaconsfield
Simon Dyson 21 Sand Moor
Paddy Gribben 30 Warrenpoint
Lorne Kelly 25 Cowal
David Patrick 24 Mortonhall
Graham Rankin 33 Drumpellier
Philip Rowe 20 West Cornwall
Graeme Storm 21 Wynyard
Gary Wolstenholme 38 Kilworth Springs
1. Mark Loftus 20 Cowglen
2. Colin Edwards 36 Bath
Peter McEvoy 46 Copt Heath