Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles
Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods anounced as PGA Player of the Year
Tiger Woods to carry Buick bag
Another award for Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods awarded Vardon Trophy
Tiger Woods aiming to get even better
Tiger Woods full of praise for Montgomerie
It's Woods vs The World at Valderrama
Woods looking forward to another chance at Valderrama
Tiger Woods signs new 5 year Titleist deal
Woods to host big money millenium event
Woods and O'Meara team up again
Woods may force change in Grand Slam of Golf
Woods-Nicklaus comparisons are in play again
New Nike deal for Tiger Woods
Woods-Garcia could be a rivalry for the ages
Titleist takes legal action over Tiger Woods ad

Tiger Woods awarded Vardon Trophy

Tiger Woods claimed yet another honour on the U.S. PGA Tour on Monday when he was named the winner of the Vardon Trophy for best scoring average, the PGA of America announced.

Woods, who capped a sensational season by winning the World Championship tournament at Valderrama on Sunday, won the trophy and registered the lowest adjusted average since the award format was changed in 1988.

"Tiger is playing like the angels do," Masters champion Jose Maria Olazabal said after Woods's Sunday playoff victory in Spain over local favourite Miguel Angel Jimenez.

The 23-year-old American, who had earlier wrapped up the PGA Player of the Year award, completed 75 rounds with an adjusted scoring average of 68.43. David Duval was runner-up with a 69.17 average in 74 rounds.

The previous best adjusted scoring mark of 68.81 was set by Greg Norman in 1994.

In 1988, the criteria was altered to award the trophy to the Tour professional with the lowest adjusted average, computed from the average score of the field at each event.

Woods's latest victory gave him record U.S. Tour winnings of more than $6.5 million -- nearly $3 million more than runner-up Duval.

Woods became the first player since Ben Hogan in 1953 to win four consecutive starts. It was his eighth triumph in 11 tournaments and his ninth of the year world-wide.