Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles
World Cup
World Cup to become World Golf Championship in 2000
James and Montgomerie join World Cup field
Future of World Cup uncertain

James and Montgomerie join World Cup field

Scotland's Colin Montgomerie, the world's No. 3 ranked player, and European Ryder Cup captain Mark James head the list of additional players committed to competing in the 45th World Cup of Golf Nov. 18-21 at the Mines Resort in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Montgomerie and James join a world-class field headlined by the United States pair of Tiger Woods, the world's top-ranked player, and No. 11 Mark O'Meara.

Montgomerie, 36, who leads the European PGA Tour Volvo Order of Merit, which he has won a record six years in a row, will be competing in his sixth World Cup. He won the International Trophy as the low individual player in 1997 at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island, S.C. Dean Robertson will join Montgomerie in representing Scotland.

England's James, 45, and Peter Baker will defend the title won last year by Nick Faldo and David Carter. England shot a 569 total at Gulf Harbour Country Club in Auckland, New Zealand, two strokes better than Italy and three ahead of the U.S.

Montgomerie is among three players entered in the World Cup who competed for Europe in the 33rd Ryder Cup matches at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., while James was the captain. The other players are Jarmo Sandelin of Sweden, who will be paired with Gabriel Hjertstedt, and Padraig Harrington of Ireland, who will play with Paul McGinley. The Irish duo won the World Cup two years ago at Kiawah Island.

Among other players who will compete for their respective countries include Frank Nobilo of New Zealand, David Frost of South Africa and Richard Zokol of Canada, all past winners on the U.S. PGA Tour, and Costantino Rocca of Italy, another former European Ryder Cup player.

The remainder of the 32-team field will be filled out with the completion of the World Cup Eastern Zone Qualifier Oct. 8-10 at the Asian Nations Cup at Kota Permai Golf and Country Club in Kuala Lumpur.

The list of teams currently committed to the 45th World Cup of Golf:

Eduardo Romero
Canada Richard Zokol Ray Stewart
Chile Roy Mackenzie Guillermo Encina
Colombia Gustavo Mendoza Jesus Amaya
Denmark Anders Hansen Soren Kjeldsen
England Mark James Peter Baker
Finland Kim Wiik Mika Lehtinen
France Jean Francoise Remesy Marc Antoine Farry
Germany Alex Cejka Sven Struver
Holland Joost Steenkamer Maarten Lafeber
Ireland Padraig Harrington Paul McGinley
Italy Costantino Rocca Emanuele Canonica
Jamaica Ralph Campbell Peter Horrobin
Japan Mamoru Osahai Mitsuo Harada
Mexico Rafael Alarcon Jose Octavio Gonzalez
Malaysia M. Ramayah P. Gunasagaran
New Zealand Frank Nobilo Stephen Scahill
Paraguay Pedro Martinez Raul Fretes
Puerto Rico Wilfredo Morales Rafael Castrillo
Scotland Dean Robertson Colin Montgomerie
South Africa Richard Kaplan David Frost
Spain Santiago Luna Miguel Angel Martin
Sweden Gabriel Hjertstedt Jarmo Sandelin
Switzerland Carlos Duran Steve Rey
United States Tiger Woods Mark O'Meara
Wales Phillip Price David Park
Zimbabwe Mark McNulty Tony Johnstone