Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Worldwide Feature Articles
World Cup
World Cup to become World Golf Championship in 2000
James and Montgomerie join World Cup field
Future of World Cup uncertain

World Cup to become World Golf Championship in 2000

The World Cup of Golf will become the fourth World Golf Championship next year with a change in format, it was announced on Friday.

The International Federation of Professional Golfers Associations and the International Golf Association announced the move during the second round of the 45th World Cup of Golf.

Buenos Aires Golf Club, Argentina, will host the 2000 World Cup from December 4-10 when 24 two-man teams instead of the current 32 will line up.

Instead of the format being aggregate strokeplay, the tournament will now be two days of fourball and two days of foursomes, consistent with the team format used in Ryder and Presidents Cup events.

Eighteen teams composed of top players from the World Rankings and six qualifying teams will dispute next year's event which will follow on from the other three World Golf Championships - the Andersen Consulting Matchplay, NEC Invitational and American Express Championship.