About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2007 Archive >


McCormack award for the ninth time for Tiger Woods

Tiger Woods won his ninth consecutive McCormack Award here on Wednesday, taking the honour presented annually to the golfer holding the top spot in world rankings the longest in each year.

Created by the world golf ranking board in 1998 to honour the sports agency founder - the late Mark McCormack - who developed a global rating system, the award has never gone to a player other than Woods, who turned professional in 1997.

Woods kept the top spot throughout 2006, part of a 92-week streak dating to the middle of 2005.

After missing the cut at the US Open following the death of his father Earl from cancer last May, Woods went on a seven-event winning streak that included the British Open and PGA Championship, giving him 12 major titles in his career.

In all, Woods has held the top ranking for 434 weeks since mid-1997, including a staggering stretch of 264 weeks over five years from August 15, 1999 to August 29, 2004.

"Tiger provided us with another exciting year of watching him battle to be the best," PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said. "We congratulate him on another great season and on the accomplishment of continuing to dominate as the top-ranked player in the world."


March 15, 2007

Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014