About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2007 Archive >


Tiger Woods named PGA Player of the Year for the ninth time

World number one Tiger Woods was named PGA Player of the Year on Tuesday for the ninth time in 11 seasons.

Woods dominated the PGA Tour, winning seven titles in 16 starts, including his 13th major victory in the U.S. PGA Championship at Southern Hills.

The 31-year-old American ended his campaign two weeks ago with a memorable double, clinching the Tour Championship by eight shots and inaugural FedExCup honours to earn a $10 million bonus.

It was his 61st PGA Tour title and fourth in five starts.

Woods, who led the money list with $10,867,052 at the end of the regular season, first won the Player of the Year award in 1997.

He followed up in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2006. Fellow American Mark O'Meara earned the accolade in 1998 and Fijian Vijay Singh in 2004.


September 26, 2007

Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014