About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2007 Archive >


Walker Cup teams announced

Britain & Ireland included three members from its losing 2005 Walker Cup team on its 10-man roster Monday for the tournament against the United States.

Rhys Davies, Nigel Edwards and Lloyd Saltman were on the team that lost 12 1/2-11 1/2 at the Chicago Golf Club.

Captained by Colin Dalgleish, they will be joined by 18-year-old local Rory McIlroy at Royal County Down, Northern Ireland, for the Sept. 8-9 competition.

McIlroy was the only amateur to complete 72 holes at the British Open last month.

The other Britain & Ireland team members include Jonathan Caldwell, David Horsey, Llewellyn Matthews, Jamie Moul, John Parry and Daniel Willett. Gary Boyd and Kevin McAlpine are the reserves.

The United States leads the Walker Cup series, which dates back to 1920, 32-7, but had lost three straight tournaments before regaining the title in 2005.

Royal County Down will be only the second club in Ireland, after Portmarnock in 1991, to host the biennial contest.


August 7, 2007

Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014