About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2007 Archive >


US Walker Cup squad named

The United States finalized its 10-man team for the Walker Cup by adding Rickie Fowler and Kyle Stanley, leaving out British Amateur champion Drew Weaver and U.S. Amateur finalist Michael Thompson.

The United States will try to retain the cup Sept. 8-9 at Royal Country Down in Northern Ireland against an amateur team from Great Britain & Ireland, which has not lost at home since 1991.

The other U.S. members previously chosen by the USGA are U.S. Amateur and U.S. Amateur Public Links winner Colt Knost, NCAA champion Jamie Lovemark, Billy Horschel, Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk, Jonathan Moore, Webb Simpson and Tripp Kuehne, who will be playing on his fourth Walker Cup team.

Fowler, 18, won the Sunnehanna Amateur by one shot. Stanley won the Southern Amateur last year.

The USGA picked Thompson and Weaver and Alex Prugh as alternates.

Weaver, a sophomore at Virginia Tech who was on campus the day a shooting rampage left 33 dead, became the first American since 1979 to capture the British Amateur. That got him into the British Open at Carnoustie, where he missed the cut by two shots.

Thompson reached the 36-hole final match Sunday at the U.S. Amateur, losing on the 35th hole to Knost. Asked if he would be disappointed not to make the Walker Cup team, Thompson said, "I would be surprised more than disappointed."

Knost lobbied for a spot on the U.S. team for Thompson.

"If he doesn't make that team, something is really wrong," Knost said.

The U.S. captain will be Buddy Marucci, who lost to Tiger Woods in the U.S. Amateur final in 1995. The American team was chosen by a USGA committee.



Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014