About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2009 Archive >


Tiger claims sixth Arnold Palmer and stretches ranking lead

Tiger Woods completed his comeback from knee surgery by winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational in dramatic fashion at the final hole at Bay Hill. Woods landed the 66th PGA Tour title of his career and his sixth victory at Bay Hill. The World Number One and defending champion started the day in second place, five shots behind overnight leader Sean O'Hair. The pair were level after 71 holes with Woods securing the title with a 16 foot birdie putt. Woods stretches his lead over World Number Two Phil Mickelson to 1.58 average points.

Soren Kjeldsen won the Open de Andalucia de Golf 09 by three shots from Scotland's David Drysdale at Real Club de Golf de Sevilla. After only one win in his first 309 European Tour events, Dane Kjeldsen has now made it two in his last nine, following on from another Andalucia victory at last year's Volvo Masters. Kjeldsen jumps back into the World Top 50 to a career high 42nd, an improvement of 12 positions.

Johan Edfors fired a four-under-par 68 in the final round of the Black Mountain Masters at the Black Mountain Golf Club to triumph by two shots over Thailand’s Prayad Marksaeng and England’s Chris Rodgers in the inaugural US$500,000 Asian Tour event. Edfors climbs 29 places to World Number 107 while Marksaeng's brilliant final round of 64 helped him climb to World Number 47 and secure an invitation to the Masters Tournament.

Bubba Dickerson rolled in a 14-foot birdie putt on the first playoff hole Sunday to defeat Brian Vranesh and win the Chitimacha Louisiana Open, the first domestic stop on the 2009 Nationwide Tour. Dickerson jumps to World Number 323.

March 30, 2009


Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014