About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf news, golf reports, golf headlines, golf updates,golf features

Golf Today > News Archive > 2009 Archive >


Tiger Woods wins 2008 McCormack Award

Tiger Woods won the 2008 Mark H. McCormack Award after dominating last year’s world rankings, the Official World Golf Ranking’s governing board said on Wednesday.

Woods, who has claimed the award every year since its inception in 1998, has been the game’s leading player since replacing Fiji’s Vijay Singh in June 2005.

He retained his grip despite being sidelined for eight months after having reconstructive knee surgery following his U.S. Open victory in June.

The award is presented to the player who holds the number one position in the world rankings for the greatest number of weeks in each calendar year.

“This award is a direct reflection of the tireless work ethic he has displayed to remain the world’s top-ranked player for such an extended period of time,” PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said in a statement.

American Woods, winner of 14 major titles, has occupied top spot for 540 weeks since becoming world number one for the first time in June 1997.

The award was established to honour the late Mark McCormack, a pioneer of the sports marketing industry, for his role in creating a world ranking system for professional golf.


March 26, 2009

Golf Today Classifieds

Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014