Kroger Classic
Kroger Classic
Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Preivew of this years tournament
News and report from the 1st round
Scores from the 1st round
News and report from the 2nd round
Scores from the 2nd round
News and report from the 3rd round
Scores from the 3rd round
Golf Today report of last years event
 Dates: Friday, August 31st through Sunday, September 2nd
 Site: The Golf Center at Kings Island (Grizzly Course), Mason, Ohio
 Course Architect: Jack Nicklaus and Desmond Muirhead (1972)
 Par: 70
 Yardage: 6,639
 Hole-by-Hole: 1 - Par 4 430 Yds         10 - Par 4 366 Yds
               2 - Par 4 430 Yds         11 - Par 4 398 Yds
               3 - Par 4 374 Yds         12 - Par 3 198 Yds
               4 - Par 5 518 Yds         13 - Par 4 412 Yds
               5 - Par 3 163 Yds         14 - Par 4 423 Yds
               6 - Par 4 402 Yds         15 - Par 4 369 Yds
               7 - Par 4 377 Yds         16 - Par 3 186 Yds
               8 - Par 3 200 Yds         17 - Par 4 392 Yds
               9 - Par 4 455 Yds         18 - Par 5 546 Yds
                   -------------              -------------
                    35 3,349 Yds               35 3,290 Yds
 Annual: 12th
 Defending Champion: Hubert Green
 Runner-Up: Larry Nelson
 Tournament Record: 195 (Jay Sigel, 1997)
 36-Hole Record: 129 (Jay Sigel, 1997)
 Course Record: 62 (J.C. Snead, 1996)
 Total Purse: $1,500,000
 Shares: 1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - 132,000; 3rd Place - 108,000
                             2000 Finish
 Player                Score              Player                 Score
 ------                -----              ------                 -----
 Hubert Green           200               Mike McCullough         205
 Larry Nelson           201               Bruce Fleisher          205
 John Mahaffey          202               Joe Inman               207
 Gil Morgan             203               Dale Douglass           208
 Bruce Summerhays       204               Allen Doyle             208
             Past Kroger Senior Classic Winners and Runners-up
 2000 -- Hubert Green (200) -- Larry Nelson
 1999 -- Gil Morgan (198) -- Ed Dougherty
 1998 -- *#Hugh Baiocchi (133) -- Bob Charles, Frank Conner, Larry Nelson,
                                  Bruce Summerhays
 1997 -- Jay Sigel (195) -- Isao Aoki
 1996 -- Isao Aoki (198) -- Mike Hill, Rocky Thompson
 1995 -- Mike Hill (196) -- Isao Aoki
 1994 -- Jim Colbert (199) -- Ray Floyd
 1993 -- Simon Hobday (202) -- Gibby Gilbert, Mike Hill, Bob Reith
 1992 -- *Gibby Gilbert (198) -- J.C. Snead
 1991 -- Al Geiberger (203) -- Larry Laoretti
 1990 -- #Jim Dent (133) -- Harold Henning
 * - Won in Playoff.
 # - Rain Shortened.
                           Top Contenders in the Field
 Hubert Green      - Defending Champion, only 1 top-10 this year in 21 events
 Jose M. Canizares - 12th on the money list with a dozen top-10 finishes
 Ed Dougherty      - Has 1 win, 9 top-10's this season, lost playoff last week
 Allen Doyle       - Has recorded an amazing 20 top-10's this year, 2 wins
 Walter Hall       - Won last week in Canada, 11th on money list, 10 top-10's
 Hale Irwin        - Two-time winner this year, 11 top-five's in 19 events
 Bruce Lietzke     - Has 3 top-10's in four starts on Senior Tour with 1 win
 Gary McCord       - Gained some insight after watching Tiger win last week
 Gil Morgan        - Has finished 1st & 2nd five times this year, 12 top-10's
 Larry Nelson      - Four-time winner, has 14 top-10's in just 22 tourneys
 Don Pooley        - Making his Senior Tour debut, two career PGA wins
 Dana Quigley      - Competing in his 30th event of the season, 11 top-10's
 Jim Thorpe        - Only top-10 money winner without a win, 5th last week
 Bobby Wadkins     - In 3 events, has a win and two top-10's, 49th in money
 Lanny Wadkins     - Back on Tour after providing TV commentary for PGA Tour
 Golftoday Network Selections
 Pick to Win - Gil Morgan
 Darkhorse   - Bruce Summerhays
 Last week's Pick to Win (Hale Irwin) - Finished tied for 10th
 Last week's Darkhorse (Tom Jenkins) - Finished tied for 31st
      Two shots off the pace when Sunday's final round began, Hubert Green
 carded a six-under 64 to clip Larry Nelson by one for his third career Senior
 Tour win last year. Green, after bogeys on 16 and 17, birdie the final hole
 for the victory. Green, who shot a second round 70, became the first player
 in event history, to shoot a round in the 70's and win this event. All ten
 previous winners of this event have never carded a round in the 70s. Since the
 start of the event in 1990, a player that has either led or been tied for the
 lead after two rounds has won the event five times.  Only three of the 11
 first-round leaders or co-leaders have gone on to win the tournament. Mike Hill
 holds the distinction of being one of only 10 players who has claimed a SENIOR
 TOUR event at the same course at which he won a PGA TOUR title.  Hill, the 1995
 Kroger Senior Classic champion, won the 1997 Ohio Kings Island Open, the last
 of his three PGA TOUR victories. The purse was increased by $100,000 from last
 year. No player has ever successfully defended his title at this tournament.
 Isao Aoki won this event in 1996 and finished second in 1995 and '97 while Mike
 Hill won this tournament in 1995 and finished second in 1993 and '96. There
 have been two playoffs in the history of the tournament, 1998 when Hugh
 Baiocchi outlasted four players in a weather shortened event and in 1992 when
 Gibby Gilbert parred the second hole to defeat J.C. Snead. There have been five
 one-stroke victories, two two-stroke victories and two playoffs in the event's
 11-year history. There have been three holes-in-one in tournament history. The
 first was by Lee Trevino (#12/final round) in 1992. Three years later, Dick
 Goetz (#5/2nd round) made an ace and in 1996, Jimmy Powell (#16/2nd round).
 Gil Morgan has a run of six straight rounds in the 60s at the Grizzly course
 and is a cumulative 19-under over this stretch at Kings Island. Don Pooley, the
 winner of the 1980 B.C. Open and 1987 Memorial Tournament on the PGA TOUR,
 turned 50 on Monday and will be competing this week. Pooley tied for fifth in
 the BUY.COM Charity Pro-Am earlier this year. The last player to win his first
 Senior Tour start was Bobby Wadkins just last month and the Long Island
 Classic. This will be the final year of the event being played at Kings Island.
 Next season, the tournament moves just eight miles north to the Tournament
 Players Club at River's Bend, which opened in July of 2001. The course is
 located about 25 miles from downtown Cincinnati. Eight of the top-10 money
 winners are competing this week. The only exceptions are: Bruce Fleisher and
 Doug Tewell. Next week, the Senior Tour moves to Des Moines, Iowa for the
 inaugural Allianz Championship, held at Glen Oak Country Club.

Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page