NEC Invitational
NEC Invitational
Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Preivew of this years tournament
News and report from the 1st round
Scores from the 1st round
News and report from the 2nd round
Scores from the 2nd round
News and report from the 3rd round
Scores from the 3rd round
News and report from the 4th round
Scores from the 4th round
Golf Today report of last years event

 Dates: Thursday, August 23rd through Sunday, August 26th
 Site: Firestone Country Club (South Course), Akron, Ohio
 Course Architect: Robert Trent Jones (1959); Jack Nicklaus (1986)
 Par: 70
 Yardage: 7,139
 Hole-By-Hole: 1 - Par 4 399 yds         10 - Par 4 410 yds
               2 - Par 5 497 yds         11 - Par 4 370 yds
               3 - Par 4 442 yds         12 - Par 3 178 yds
               4 - Par 4 458 yds         13 - Par 4 457 yds
               5 - Par 3 200 yds         14 - Par 4 418 yds
               6 - Par 4 469 yds         15 - Par 3 221 yds
               7 - Par 3 219 yds         16 - Par 5 625 yds
               8 - Par 4 450 yds         17 - Par 4 392 yds
               9 - Par 4 470 yds         18 - Par 4 464 yds
                   -------------              -------------
                    35 3,604 yds               35 3,535 yds

 Annual: 3rd
 Defending Champion: Tiger Woods
 Runner-Up: Justin Leonard, Phillip Price
 Tournament Record: 259 (Tiger Woods, 2000)
 54-Hole Record: 192 (Tiger Woods, 2000)
 36-Hole Record: 125 (Tiger Woods, 2000)
 Course Record: 61 (Jose Maria Olazabal, 1990; Tiger Woods, 2000)
 Total Purse: $5,000,000
 Shares: 1st Place - $1,000,000; 2nd Place - 500,000; 3rd Place - 400,000

                             2000 Finish

 Player                Score              Player                 Score
 ------                -----              ------                 -----
 Tiger Woods            259               Hal Sutton              271
 Justin Leonard         270               Stewart Cink            272
 Phillip Price          270               Paul Azinger            273
 Jim Furyk              271               Colin Montgomerie       273
 Phil Mickelson         271               Jose Maria Olazabal     274
                                          Thomas Bjorn            274

         Past NEC Invitational Winners and Runners-up

 2000 -- Tiger Woods (259) -- Justin Leonard, Phillip Price
 1999 -- Tiger Woods (270) -- Phil Mickelson

                           Players To Watch

                 Finish Last Two Years
 Player               1999   2000
 ------               ----   ----
 Tiger Woods          Won    Won
 Phillip Price        dnp    T-2
 Phil Mickelson       2nd    T-4
 Jim Furyk            T-10   T-4
 Hal Sutton           T-15   T-4
 Colin Montgomerie    T-30   T-8
 Paul Azinger         dnp    T-8
 Thomas Bjorn         dnp    T-10
 Ernie Els            5th    T-12
 Robert Allenby       dnp    T-12
 Shigeki Maruyama     6th    T-15
 Michael Campbell     dnp    T-15
 Darren Clarke        T-36   T-17
 Notah Begay III      dnp    T-17
 Nick Price           T-3    T-20
 Stuart Appleby       T-23   T-20
 Lee Westwood         T-33   T-20
 Retief Goosen        dnp    T-24
 Carlos Franco        T-7    T-27
 Padraig Harrington   T-12   T-27
 Greg Norman          T-25   T-31
 Davis Love III       T-10   35th
 Miguel Angel Jimenez T-27   36th
 Vijay Singh          T-15   dnp
 Mark Calcavecchia    T-12   dnp
 Scott Hoch           T-23   dnp
 David Duval          T-27   dnp
 Steve Elkington      39th   dnp
 Pierre Fulke         dnp    dnp
 Bernhard Langer      dnp    dnp
 Paul McGinley        dnp    dnp
 Ian Poulter          dnp    dnp
 Loren Roberts        dnp    dnp
 David Toms           dnp    dnp
 Kirk Triplett        dnp    dnp
 Mike Weir            dnp    dnp
 Niclas Fasth         dnp    dnp

                              Players in the Field

 Robert Allenby              Carlos Franco            Greg NormanStuart Appleby
 Paul Azinger                Jim Furyk                Nick Price
 Notah Begay III             Retief Goosen            Phillip Price
 Thomas Bjorn                Padraig Harrington       Loren Roberts
 Mark Calcavecchia           Scott Hoch               Vijay Singh
 Michael Campbell            Miguel Angel Jimenez     Hal Sutton
 Stewart Cink                Bernhard Langer          David Toms
 Darren Clarke               Davis Love III           Kirk Triplett
 David Duval                 Shigeki Maruyama         Scott Verplank
 Steve Elkington             Paul McGinley            Mike Weir
 Ernie Els                   Phil Mickelson           Lee Westwood
 Niclas Fasth                Colin Montgomerie        * Tiger Woods

 * - Defending champion

 Golftoday Network Selections
 Pick to Win - Tiger Woods
 Darkhorse   - Bernhard Langer

 Last week's Pick to Win (T.Woods, D.Duval, P.Mickelson) - T-29, T-10, 2nd
 Last week's Darkhorse (B.Faxon, J.Furyk, B.Mayfair) - T-59, T-7, MC

      The second of four World Golf Championships events takes place this
 week as world number-one Tiger Woods defends his title at the NEC
 Invitational. Woods carded a final-round 67 to win by 11 shots over Justin
 Leonard and Phillip Price last year. Woods' total of 21-under-par 259 broke
 the 72-hole score of 270 he posted in winning the inaugural event in 1999.
 Woods also topped the Firestone Country Club tournament record of 262 set by
 Jose Maria Olazabal in the 1990 World Series of Golf. Woods only led by one
 shot after the opening round, however a second-round, course-record tying 61
 distanced himself from the field as he cruised to his second straight win at
 this event. Woods also set a record for 36 holes at 125, not only an event
 record but a PGA Tour mark. Woods became the first player since Johnny Miller
 in 1975 to successfully defend three PGA Tour titles in the same season.
 Players qualify for this lucrative event if they were a member of either
 the U.S. or International Presidents Cup teams in 2000, 2001 U.S. Ryder Cup
 team or in the top-12 in European Ryder Cup standings. Scott Verplank made the
 field Monday after being chosen as one of Curtis Strange's selections for the
 upcoming Ryder Cup team. The course was originally designed by Bert Way in
 1929, but was completely remodeled by Robert Trent Jones. The remaining
 players on the PGA Tour are competing this week in Nevada at the Reno-Tahoe
 Open. Greg Norman and Jose Maria Olazabal are two-time winners on this
 course. The World Series of Golf was held on this site from 1962-98. The PGA
 Championship was also held on this course in 1960, 66 and 1975. Steve Stricker
 captured the first World Golf Championship event this year, defeating Pierre
 Fulke at the Andersen Consulting Match Play Championship. The winner of this
 event will receive the Wedgwood, England-designed Gary Player Cup for his
 victory along with the $1,000,000 first-place prize from the $5,000,000 purse.
 Last year, the par-4 fourth hole proved to be the most difficult with a
 scoring average of 4.345 while the par-5 second hole was the easiest (4.358).
 Seven of the top-10 hardest holes on the course are on the front nine. This
 event will be held at Sahalee Country Club near Seattle, Washington next year.
 Next week, the PGA Tour moves to British Columbia for the Air Canada
 Championship where Rory Sabbatini will defend his title


Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page