State Farm Senior Classic
State Farm Senior Classic
Golf Today Home Page All the latest golf news Coverage of all the worlds major tours For all your golfing needs Golf Course Directory Out on the course Golf related travel Whats going on
Preivew of this years tournament
News and report from the 1st round
Scores from the 1st round
News and report from the 2nd round
Scores from the 2nd round
News and report from the 3rd round
Scores from the 3rd round
Golf Today report of last years event
 Dates: Friday, July 27th through Sunday, July 29th
 Site: Hayfields Country Club, Hunt Valley, Maryland
 Course Architect: Ault, Clark & Associates (1998)
 Par: 72
 Yardage: 6,917
 Hole-by-Hole: 1 - Par 4 380 yds         10 - Par 4 362 yds
               2 - Par 5 526 yds         11 - Par 3 167 yds
               3 - Par 3 180 yds         12 - Par 4 398 yds
               4 - Par 4 411 yds         13 - Par 4 433 yds
               5 - Par 5 531 yds         14 - Par 3 209 yds
               6 - Par 4 412 yds         15 - Par 4 384 yds
               7 - Par 4 417 yds         16 - Par 5 553 yds
               8 - Par 3 210 yds         17 - Par 4 441 yds
               9 - Par 4 385 yds         18 - Par 5 518 yds
                   -------------              -------------
                    36 3,452 yds               36 3,465 yds

 Annual: 4th
 Defending Champion: Leonard Thompson
 Runner-Up: Isao Aoki
 Tournament Record: 198 (Christy O'Connor, 1999)
 36-Hole Record: 131 (Christy O'Connor, 1999)
 18-Hole Record: 64 (Jose Maria Canizares, 2000)
 9-Hole Record: 31 (Tom Shaw, 1999; Jose Maria Canizares, George Burns,
                    Bruce Fleisher, John Bland, 2000)
 Total Purse: $1,450,000
 Shares: 1st Place - $217,500; 2nd Place - 127,600; 3rd Place - 104,400

                             2000 Finish

 Player                Score              Player                 Score
 ------                -----              ------                 -----
 Leonard Thompson *     205               Jim Albus               208
 Isao Aoki              205               Hubert Green            208
 Dana Quigley           207               Jim Thorpe              209
 Larry Nelson           207               Jose Maria Canizares    209
 Bruce Fleisher         208               Walter Hall             209

 * - Won in playoff.

         Past State Farm Senior Classic Winners and Runners-up

 2000 -- *Leonard Thompson (205) -- Isao Aoki
 1999 -- Christy O'Connor (198) -- Bruce Fleisher
 1998 -- Bruce Summerhays (206) -- Walter Hall, Hale Irwin

 * - Won in playoff.

                           Top Contenders in the Field

 Leonard Thompson  - Defending champion, has 1 win and five top-10's in 2001
 Jose M. Canizares - 10th on money list with a win and 10 top-10 finishes
 Ed Dougherty      - Has finished in the top-3 four times with one win
 Allen Doyle       - Captured Senior Players Championship, has 17 top-10's
 Bruce Fleisher    - Three-time winner and eight-time top-five finisher in 2001
 Tom Kite          - Has finished third four times this year, 13th in money
 Bruce Lietzke     - Made Senior Tour debut last week as he tied for 24th
 Mike McCullough   - Two-time winner this year, 8th on money list
 Dana Quigley      - Won last week for the first time this year, 6th in money
 Bruce Summerhays  - Won this event in 1998, only five top-10's this year
 Jim Thorpe        - Two-time runner-up this year, 12th on money list
 Lanny Wadkins     - Has played in only 11 events in 2001 with 1 top-10

 Golftoday Network Selections
 Pick to Win - Allen Doyle
 Darkhorse   - Hubert Green

 Last week's Pick to Win (Bruce Fleisher) - Finished tied for 13th
 Last week's Darkhorse (Bruce Lietzke) - Finished tied for 24th

      Leonard Thompson birded the second playoff hole to defeat Isao Aoki
 last year and win for the second time in his Senior Tour career. Thompson, the
 only player in the field to post all three rounds in the 60's, needed a birdie
 on the final hole to force the playoff with Aoki. Aoki, who started the day
 four strokes behind, carded a Sunday best bogey-free 65. Thompson birdied the
 par-5 18th hole all three rounds of regulation play as well as the two playoff
 holes. Thompson, who added his third career win earlier this year, had beaten
 Aoki in playoffs for his first two titles. With his first-place check of
 $202,500, Leonard Thompson became the all-time money leader at the State Farm
 Senior Classic with $252,989. Thompson earned $48,214 in 1998 and $2,275 in
 1999. Christy O'Connor is second on the list with $215,959 in earnings.
 Hubert Green became the first player to record an ace at the State Farm Senior
 Classic. Green hit a 7-iron to the 157-yard 11th hole in the final round for
 his 22nd career ace. Green tied for fourth the first two years and tied for
 fifth last year. Jim Albus and Walter Hall join Hubert Green as the only
 players to finish in the top-10 all three years of the State Farm Senior
 Classic. Albus has finished T4, T10 and T5 while Hall has recorded T2, T10 and
 T8 finishes. All three champions of the State Farm Senior Classic (Bruce
 Summerhays, Christy O'Connor and Leonard Thompson) shot three rounds in the
 60s the year they won the tournament. No champion has shot a round greater
 than 69 the year they won. In nine rounds of tournament play at Hobbit's Glen,
 Kermit Zarley has recorded the most birdies with 38, an average of one birdie
 every 4.3 holes. Walt Morgan and Dana Quigley have each recorded 37 birdies
 apiece. In two years at this event, Bruce Fleisher has finished 2nd and 5th
 with all six rounds under par and is the all-time scoring leader at this event
 at 67.83. After three year's at Hobbit's Glen Golf Club, the tournament moves
 to Hayfields Country Club. The purse was increased by $100,000 from last year.
 The Senior Tour moves to New York next week for the Lightpath Long Island
 Classic at Meadow Brook Club where Fleisher will defend his title.




Email this page to a friend | Return to top of page